Exploring the Southern Missouri Ozarks Part 2: Jam Up Cave (Video + Pictures)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

 Located on the Jacks Fork River outside of Mountain View, Missouri is Jam Up Cave. It is  one of the most spectacular caves on the Jacks Fork and one of my favorite places to hike!   The cave is only accessible by boat, and then it's quite a bit of a hike to get there!

This (very shaky) GoPro video shows our climb from the riverside to the top of the bluff where there's a breathtaking  view of the mouth of the cave! The video simply doesn't do it justice!!


According to the National Park Service, the high entrance is about 80 feet high and 100 feet wide. On this particular day, we didn't hike into the cave. It is currently illegal to enter caves in order to protect bats from White Nose Disease. However, we have ventured far into the cave many times in the past and it is amazing!!! There is an underground waterfall and often, the cave is filled with water so there is a beautiful pool at the bottom.   My husband and I love to share our adventures out on the Jacks Fork River! @jasonrussell has already made several awesome posts of this beautiful river, so go follow him if you haven't already!   



Thanks for looking, and hope you enjoy! 

Sort:  

I must say, based on the location of this cute and beautiful cave. If you aren't ready for hike and adventure, please stay home and let the adventurers do their thing.@melodyrussell, thanks for sharing

It's definitely not a novice-level hike, but it's absolutely breathtaking, both literally and figuratively :)

I've visited and read the articles and articles that are on your blog. I found something useful on your blog. Something interesting and new information from the blog. It's all very useful. Thank you very much. And I want you to visit my blog too.

Thanks! And I followed you back. Always nice to meet a fellow nature enthusiast!

Thank again..
I've visited and read the articles and articles that are on your blog. I found something useful on your blog. Something interesting and new information from the blog. It's all very useful. Thank you very much. And I want you to visit my blog too.

I've been hiking in this area. Didn't have courage to go too deep in the caves, but my frinends loved it.

It's a beautiful part of the country for sure. Glad you were able to see it!

That's so cool! I like non creepy caves :)

This is a very, very open cave so it's pretty inviting :) I have friends that used to belly crawl through tiny tunnels to get to the crazy cool spots, but I was never that brave.

Ya, no thank you on that :D

I love caves. :D
I wonder if I've passed this cave, actually. I've been on the JF 2 or 3 times now. Can't remember where exactly, though.

Same here! I've always loved to go caving (or I think "spelunking" is the correct term, haha) You may have passed Jam Up, depending on which stretch you floated. The path is pretty obscure. If you ever find yourself wanting to visit again, hit me or @jasonrussell up if you need local tour guides! ;)

Awesome pictures of jam up! Now i want to go floating

That looks fun-- not too far from where I am, in the NW Arkansas area, the terrain looks familiar, but I've never been to that part of MO. Thanks for the tour!

Arkansas is beautiful! The Natural State, right? ;) We went on a waterfall hunt down around the Buffalo last year but there hadn't been much rain. Still saw some beautiful stuff! Bought a really cool book that maps out all the waterfalls throughout the state. We can't wait to go back!

The Buffalo area is incredible, and there's waterfalls around there like at Hemmed-In Hollow that I haven't visited yet because the spring and fall is when the falls are running, and I wanting to go when it's happening. This year has been wet though, there's been more chances to catch the falls this year.

I can't wait to go back and explore!

Same here- I haven't been out to the river yet this year, but got a new tent for father's day so it will be soon!

Nice. Doesn't Missouri have the most caves in the U.S.?

I believe you are correct! Our little neck of the woods alone is home to hundreds of caves.

Beautiful State!

Indeed it is! :)

it's cool~
thank you for good posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69