You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two old Vermont Barns

in #photography6 years ago

Fantastic photos! I love that weather vane shot! So many of our Wisconsin dairy barns have disappeared. As the big mega dairies have taken over there are fewer and fewer small dairy herds left, and the barns have fallen into disrepair and have been torn down. One of the main functions of a barn was hay storage, and with farmers switching over to round bales they don't need the hay storage space anymore.

Sort:  

Yes. I always joke that Vermont is the organic, farm to market, small farms place that California wants to be or thinks it is. In Vermont, its real. The little farmers are still there. They are still on the same land their grandpa farmed. They sell eggs, cheese, bacon all that from the farm. Probably even Kale lol

I spent a couple weeks there several years ago and found it fascinating. I also found that I'm maybe too Midwest friendly to fit in well with the reserved demeanor people back East tend to have. Kale. I'm still not sure why that is a good idea, anywhere!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63