That's the stuff ! A tribute to the city of Turin, Italy !

in #photography7 years ago

Turin (or Torino, in Italian) is one of the most beautiful cities I've been in Italy, and in the world!
Gelato - ice cream!- in every corner, open and hospitable people, great shops and restaurants and amazing atmosphere!!!

The home of Torino and Juventus football teams and one of the important cities Po river crosses...


Night view of the Po river

Also, even if you're not a museum person, like I am, I'm sure you would appreciate the very special museums Turin has to offer:

For car lovers, the National Museum of Cars [ http://www.museoauto.it/website/en ] with a collection of 200 cars and representation of 8 countries, is a must see! The Ferraris are waiting...

For those who find Egyptian History fascinating, the Egyptian Museum of Turin is the second in the world (as in size of collection) after the one of...Cairo! Crazy huh?? http://www.museoegizio.it/

And last but not least, the National Museum of Cinema, a journey through movies and the tallest museum in the world! http://www.museocinema.it/index.php?l=en
Hosted in a quite amazing building, the Mole Antonelliana:

Construction started in 1863 and completed in 1889. The building was originally conceived as a synagogue hence the Jewish community of Turin hired Antonelli for that. But they weren't happy with him since he proposed a series of modifications which raised the final height to 167.5 meters, over 46 meters higher than the dome in the original design. Such changes, in addition to greater costs and construction time than were originally anticipated, did not satisfy the Jewish community and construction stopped in 1869, with a provisional roof.

In 1876, the Jewish community, having spent almost 3 times more than expected for a building that was still far from finished, announced that it was withdrawing from the project. In the end the synagogue was constructed somewhere else in the city and Antonelli finished his work which hosted the Museum of Risorgimento (Italian Renaissance).

The Mole Antonelliana is the tallest unenforced brick building in the world (built without a steel girder skeleton) and you can enjoy a spectacular view of Turin by getting to the elevator that passes through the building, up in the air, to the top. Here's a shot I took from up there:

Enjoy more of Turin in the slideshow below, modern, old, river, reflections... If you're going to Northern Italy, you shouldn't miss visiting this incredible city !!!


Tram passing by on the bridge over the Po river...

I hope you liked this post and that you put Turin on your 'must visit' list by now :D
Don't forget to smile !!! :)

Sort:  

Amazing! I've been to turin once but just for football match. You must visit rome and firenze... very beautiful cities,too :)

You were lucky enough then, most people don't visit Turin!!!
I moved to Copenhagen from Rome and I've been visiting Italy since I was a kid, so I've been almost everywhere by now, including Florence of course!!! My favorite city is Venice though, by far!!! Even though the city of my heart is Brindisi, capital of Italy during WWII, in Puglia :) Italy is a beauty everywhere, when they ask me I seriously don't know what to suggest first!!! We visited Rome with @creutzy though, since he hadn't been - it's a must, isn't it?? :D

Niiiiiiice :D friend of mine is from lecce ... south italy is just a dream!! In my eyes italy is caribbean of europe

I see it this way too ! And I like Lecce - not one of my favorites, but the South is a blast wherever you go :D

Very nice series. I love traveling in Italy.

Thank you! More to come soon ;) Italy for me is an eternal love...so I'll agree with you, yes! :)

Beautiful shots! I like them all but the first one and the 2nd reflection image are my favorites. :)

Thank you babe! (I was thinking of answering 'meep' ahaha but I have more to say! :P ) It's so weird, those are my favorites too...and it happened the same with the New York post, even though I changed the original order of the pictures... (not that you knew, just saying) I guess we have the same taste after all... ;) I'm glad you like it !!! Torino is amazing...we should put it on our list - you know, among the million others we wanna go... ;) But in Italy, a Northern tour is a must at some point - Genova (will be posting soon), Torino and Venice (should post more...) ;)

interesting!!

it is, isn't ?? Thank you :)

yeah, and welcome :)

The reflection shots are just so amazing!
Very well done!!

Thank you so much! Glad you like them! Po river was a blast to photograph!! :)

Good work with photos and with story @meanmommy33. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you @photo-trail ! I can't believe I made it again !!! Yayyyy!!! :D
About the story, now that I'm writing my thesis and I'm more into writing because of that so I thought adding a more detailed description is a good idea. I've done travel writing before and I really miss it so I grabbed the chance! Besides, if someone is bored or has not time to read the article, the pictures are always there - but if someone wants more and I just post the pictures, then it sucks ;) Cheers my steem friend! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87