🏛⚖️ ¡Just Capital! Illinois: The Land of Lincoln - 13 Pictures

in #photography6 years ago

Money shot!

Straight from the Land of Lincoln. Here we see a younger sculpture of Abraham, I believe depicted as he was when he practiced law in the state.

Taking photographs of state capital buildings is one of my hobbies. Just something I like to do for me.

Living so close to Chicago, it's a wonder that I waited so long to visit Springfield to get pictures of their beautiful capital building.

The interior of the structure in the "Land of Lincoln" really has an incredible rotunda. Definitely pay it a visit if you have the opportunity.

“I'd never fall again, if you can stop tearing your self down”

It was so dark in there, portions of this came out a little grainy. Other's are kinda blurry but I'm not going to worry about that - I didn't want to use flash. I find it to be increasingly annoying.

This hallway is on the second level of the building. In the center of the image your can see a few of the statues that are in the rotunda.

This picture has a nice balance of light and richness of color - I'm pleased with how it came out. All the photos in this set were taken with my Canon Rebel that’s probably 10 years old and processed through Instagram.

This light fixture and ceiling design come from the previous picture I posted here on Steemit yesterday.

I'm always attracted to things that are symmetrical in architecture. Many of the photos in this collection share that feature.

“I can't make you look up but you should”

“Step out of the shadow to bend light”

Washington in Lincoln's house: this painting hangs on the second level of the rotunda.

A different look at the dome. My last photo will be a closer look at the glasswork at the center.

Here's the close up of the interior of the dome. It says "State Sovereignty".

This version of Lincoln appears to be based on his appearance during his presidency but I'm not positive about that fact.

Dreamers aren’t concerned with race, gender or any other signals of the division bell

Only the dream

Only together

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-09T02:52:54
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 698.10/800.00
Total Photos: 105
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mdf-365
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=just-capital-illinois-the-land-of-lincoln-13-pictures


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello @mdf-365, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Much appreciated - thank you for helping to promote my content. If you like this I would recommend checking out the video series I'm producing on Isle Royale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84