Hawaii Photos: Yesterday surfing Jaws

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

These photos taken yesterday at Peahi (Jaws), on the north side of Maui, were taken by my good friend Stu Soley. The entire island has a tension in the air that you can almost touch! From the sea mist in the air to the thundering crash of the surf, even miles from the ocean we felt the raw energy from the Pacific.


jaws-surfing-maui.jpg

Enjoy these photos straight from Maui, Hawaii!

maui-hawaii_0201.jpg

maui-hawaii_0203.jpg

maui-hawaii_0204.jpg

maui-hawaii_0206.jpg

maui-hawaii_0207.jpg

maui-hawaii_0208.jpg

maui-hawaii_0202.jpg

maui-hawaii_0203.jpg

maui-hawaii_0209.jpg

We hope you like these! Please let us know if you want more near real-time updates from the Valley Isle.

Sort:  

Like your photos, Hawaii is definitely my next destination.

Thank you! It ought to be. We love it here. Came for 6 months, been here for 12+ years! Haha!

Stunning pictures, I hope the tension has gone from the fake nuke warning too??!

...You have NO IDEA! In the press and from the Govt, they use wording like "inconvenienced residents." There's nothing more patronizing than that, considering almost all of us were legitimately freaking out! I've heard some pretty horrible stories. For my little family, I'm glad we weren't in a crowded area because panic causes more panic. We were at home and still tripping out. I woke my wife out of bed in a frenzy and realized I had no solution. Our shelters are mediocre at best, and they're not close enough anyway. It was a hair-raising experience. And, yes, most of the tension is gone. But the frustration and anger are still here. Hopefully they get it together soon.

I really felt for you guys, that must have been terrifying! How long was it before you found out is was a false alarm? And what happened to the person who made the mistake I imagine he/she is not too popular but I assume its been kept behind closed doors?

Yah, terrifying. It took 38 minutes for them to update them. Thankfully, I figured it out about 10 minutes earlier thanks to Twitter. Still, when you get notice that "this is not a drill" you take it seriously. Not sure about the guy that blew it. Doesn't really matter. If 1 person can make that mistake, the system is broken. That should be a decision by 2 people at the very least.

Very true. Glad its all settled down now. NIce to get an insiders account, you never know what to believe in the news!

Nice, good job! Looks soo great.

Amazing photos thanks @maui 🏆Those waves look like 30 feet plus?
Nice!

Wow so epic . Would love to spend a season there shooting this and surfing some smaller waves lol

Wow! These are just incredible photographs. I love them all.

Thank you One Photo!!!!

@Maui
I surf cold Scottish waves,
Much like this, if you spill it is like hitting fast moving concrete, that eats you up and beats you up and doesn't always spit you out.

Nice work..love Hawaii too :)

Wow, nice! Maybe I ll go there for a congress next month! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56