The Hiking Series - Part 3: Nanos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

HIKING - PART 1.png

Hello dear hikers of Steemit!

I am sorry for the lack of content these last couple of days, but I have been really really busy in my life. Christmas is just around the corner so I went home to see my family. Also my friend that was in America for 4 months came back this week and I am also spending time with him. We both love to hike so we decided we would go for a hike on wednesdey, when the weather forecast looked favorable.

Me and my friend woke up at 6 am. We had some eggs and went into our car for the hour and a half drive to the mountain called Nanos. On the top stands the oldest radio tower in Slovenia, but otherwise it is a sort of a plateau. It is pretty narrow with about 500 m width and about 8 km long. The peak is about 1600 m high so it is not the heighest mountain which is appropriate for winter.

We came to the place we parked our car at about 8.30 am. To our surprise we found snow. All the snow that fell about a week ago already melted, but here it looks like it was still there. We didnt really have snow equipment so we hoped it would be fine!

20171220_092516.jpg

We started along a grass field. My friend said he hiked here a year back and that it was not very steep. Well he was pretty wrong. The initial part was pretty steep and me not being used to hiking recently became pretty winded. We soon came out of the initial woods and came to a meadow which gave us our first look of the top we want to conquer.

20171220_092520.jpg

To the other side we had a beautiful view of the rolling hills that end in the Adriatic sea.

20171220_094443.jpg

We kept walking on. It was trully beautiful weather just as it was forecast. It was a little windy with about 0 degrees Celsius. Perfect hiking weather! We kept walking and soon came to the end of the meadow. Two trees were standing there framing the path in the most beautiful way, the Nanos mountain behind them,

20171220_103600.jpg

20171220_103627.jpg

The path was very well traveled. Normally this would be great because we didnt need to hike through the knee high snow, but in this case this was actually the problem as we went back into the forest. The well hiked path melted under the boots of other hikers in previous days because of the warmer weather. Today with sub-zero temperatures during the night and with strong cold winds blowing the snow-melt turned into ice, which made the travel pretty hazardous.

20171220_102753.jpg

When the path was not steep the ice was not really a problem. Soon the path became steeper and steeper and more narrow with steep falls on one side. Going up was not a problem, but we feared the way down. If one would fall on the ice it might become pretty dangerous. With the path becoming steeper and steeper we decided to turn back.

The hill would wait. And for sure we would conquer the summit at a different day! No summit is worth dying for. We still saw some amazing sights. I hope you can enjoy them too!


To always stay to date on my and Urška's adventures please follow me and Urška at @urskaskamen. If you like this post and want to keep it coming please upvote me. It trully means a lot to a beginner like me. Also If you have any questions feel free to comment and I will definitly try to answer you in a timely manner.
Sort:  

I looove hiking! Awesome post, Thank you 😊

Thank you very much!

Hiking series my favourite and i follow you because your article about this series is very informative.

I am glad you like it. Tomorrow I will post a new one so stay tuned!

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Good story! I learned that this winter the problems with snow are not only for us)))

The problems follow the snow I think!

Congratulations @maticpecovnik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice hiking.

Thank you. More to come today!