We Put Up Outdoor Christmas Lights For The First TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

I've never had the chance to help put up Christmas lights outside in my life. Now that my husband and I are homeowners and we have a kid we decided it was time to be festive and put up our very first outdoor Christmas decorations.

My husband was determined to find Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer to put on the roof. He went to store after store looking for a red nosed reindeer and surprisingly he couldn't find one. All anyone had were the expensive fancy looking reindeer covered in white lights. We tried Big Lots as a last ditch try and there was Rudolph.

IMG_9282.JPG

They aren't the most impressive lights but they are as good as we novices can get. My husband did the lights on the railing and up the sides of the house. I did the ones on the top of the roof.

IMG_9287.JPG

IMG_9294.JPG

IMG_9299.JPG

Sorry for the blur but my camera doesn't do night well. Putting up lights was an adventure. My big, tall, strong husband is afraid of heights.Because of that I offered to get on the roof and hang the lights. I overestimated my bravery and once I got up there I was scared of falling. I had to lay on my belly and crawl up the steep incline of the roof. It was hard getting over the top and the far side of the roof was even scarier because if I fell it was a big drop down. I used a staple gun to attached lights to the roof one bit at a time.

It was really nice having just a few lights and a Rudolph up. It was fun to do with my husband and really festive. It was even prettier when our blizzard started. The following pictures are from Saturday after we had a ton of snow.

IMG_9374 2.JPG

IMG_9440.JPG

It was really neat seeing the colorful lights at night with all that snow around. It made the colors brighter and the different colors made the snow glow with the different colored bulbs.

IMG_9441.JPG

We live on top of a mountain so it's fun to be driving on the road below to town and see our lights up above. Since we live out in the country it's very dark out here. Our home is the only one with Christmas lights which brightens up the darkness for a short time until Christmas is over.

Over time my husband and I will add to our lights so someday we have a more impressive display. Maybe we'll add some friends to join Rudolph on the roof. I love Christmas light displays and I'm glad my husband was up for putting up lights. They are simple but they bring us enjoyment.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Loved the Rudolf you found AND that you made it stay up on the roof :)

Thanks. Sadly Rudolf fell off the roof once the snow melted lol. Guess we need a better system for mounting him up there.

Your photos of lights are about the same as my photos of Xmas lights! Love the Rudolph,

Lol. I don't think my pictures are very good. lol. I'm terrible with night pictures.

Mine are pretty terrible too.

Oh I am totally scared of heights!! Well done on getting it done!

Thank you! I was scared being up there on the roof.

Looks like fun! I see your snow has stayde around, too.

My camera doesn't do low light well, either. I lug around a tripod after dark, so I can do longer exposure times.

Our snow is still around. It usually melts the next day so this is the first time in my life it's stuck around this long.

I have an iphone SE so my camera is pretty limited. I wish I had a better camera in ways but the iphone does pretty good during the day.

Hello @marxrab, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79