The Lonely Swing Set: Forgotten In The Forest

in #photography7 years ago

Year after year it sat alone. The children were all gone and the house abandoned. For eight years the swing set sat in the abandoned yard as the forest took over and vines and weeds grew around it's poles. The first time I saw the swing set I thought how sad it looked.

The Lonely Swing Set

IMG_7090.JPG

My husband and I bought a house last year that had been empty for eight years. The day I saw the house the first time I was happy to see a swing set in the back yard. When I checked it out I saw that it was very sturdy but needed some serious work before a child could play on it. After some research my husband and I found out the last residents to the house were a mom and her little girl. My daughter was born last year after we moved in and I knew I'd be fixing up the lonely swing set to give it to a new child to play with someday.

The Wood Is Still Strong But It Needs Some Sanding and Some Paint.

IMG_7091.JPG

Many of It's Nails Need To Be Hammered Back In

IMG_7097.JPG

IMG_7092.JPG

It's Swings Long Gone

IMG_7093.JPG

When we first moved in the yard needed serious maintenance. The house is surrounded by forest, and weeds and overgrowth had taken over the yard. After getting it mowed we beat back some of the forest but we still have a lot of work to do.The lonely swing set will be worked on next summer. My daughter is still to little to use it yet. When she's older I'll work hard to fix it up, make it safe, and get it new swings for her to play on.


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

Sounds like a fun project! Amazing how the nails just come out like that over time.

Thank you! It is strange how they come up like that. I think since we move in I notice some coming out even more.

Its going to be great when you guys fix it up! It looks like good sturdy wood and it won't be sad anymore because your little girl will enjoy it!🌷

I know. I'm excited for when she's big enough to use it.

Excellent photos friend very good post thanks for sharing it with all of us.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

Think about using screws instead. They stay in better, but come out easier if you need them to. The before and after photos should make an interesting post.

I'm so glad the swing set will have your daughter to play on it. You'll make many sweet memories there, I'm sure!

It always makes me wonder about the guy that built it. Probably a proud father. Great pics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66