The Beauty Of A Khaki Campbell Duck

in #photography6 years ago

The smallest duck my husband and I own is Reese's Pieces, our Khaki Campbell Duck. I've always been fond and protective of Reese's Pieces because she is so small compared to the other ducks and because she is so skittish. For a small duck, her feathers are very beautiful and full of details. She has so many different shades of brown all over her body.

IMG_8548.JPG

Reese's Pieces (named after the peanut butter/chocolate candy) has brown eyes, a brown beak, brown feet, and brown feathers. My camera isn't great so I can't capture it easily but she has the prettiest brown eyes. Her head is a darker brown and as you look down her neck, the shades get lighter and more varied. She's very camouflaged when she's out near the tall grass and trees. Her feathers are perfect to hide her from view of predators.

Zoom In On Her Head

IMG_8548 2.jpg

Feathers From the Back

IMG_8550 2.JPG

It's so interesting how many different designs she has on her feathers. Sometimes I enjoy sitting on the grass with the ducks grazing around me so I can watch Reese's Pieces and admire her lovely feathers. My other three ducks are more solid colors and don't have such varied designs on their feathers. Khaki Campbell Ducks are very pretty and I'm glad I picked one to include in my flock. I mainly chose a Khaki Campbell because they are bred to lay lots of eggs. I'm fairly sure she and Sammy, my Pekin duck are the first to give me eggs so far.

Her Wings

IMG_8552.JPG

Foraging For Food

IMG_8554.JPG

When we first got her, Reese's Pieces was very afraid of me. That's one negative quality about Khaki Campbells. They are known to be skittish birds. These days, she is still cautious, but she comes to me if all the other ducks come. She takes treats from me and I love it when she eats out of my hand. She's a big fan of Cheerios but she also enjoys tiny bites of green beans. She often gets pushed to the back of the group by the bigger ducks when treats are being handed out. I always make sure to give her a turn to be in front and save and handful of treats just for her. The bigger ducks are pushy and greedy when it comes to treats so I have to watch out for my little Reese's Pieces to ensure she gets a bite.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Ducks are in peace for you. They are looking so nice. After all really amazing photography.

Poor little ducky being bullied by the big ducks.

Cute duck tho! Would blend in well with fallen foliage of autumn.

Pretty colors! It's nice to see the quackers are doing well. Sammy seemed a bit camera shy this time around.

Reese reminds me of the female mallard ducks we get around here, though they're not quite as impressive. They have a similar pattern, but are gray.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78