Photos Of My Road Trip Past The Devil's Gate In Wyoming

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Naming a place "The Devil's Gate" brings up images of an ominous and dangerous area. Somehow my husband and I ended up at the a real Devil's Gate in Wyoming. Instead of being creepy it was very beautiful. It was so beautiful we pulled the car over and so I could take a picture.

The Devil's Gate

262141_682548635476_3457094_n 3.jpg

The picture above is one I took on a road trip my husband and I took a six years ago. We were driving through Wyoming and saw one of those "scenic overview" signs and turned down it. It took us to the Devil's Gate landmark. In the picture you can see two huge hills with a pass in between them which is the "gate."

The Fence Around The Area Surrounding The Devils Gate

263922_682548650446_6185293_n 2.jpg

I didn't know much about this landmark until a bit ago when I found this picture and looked it up. The name comes from emigrants moving westward in the 1800s by wagon trains. The Arapahoe and Shoshone Indians had legends about this area and said the it was created when an evil creature lived there and was an enemy to their people. The tribes decided to kill the monster because it prevented them from hunting. During the fight, the beast torn a hole in the land with one of its tusks making the Devil's Gate landmark look the way it does today. When settlers started moving westward they gave it the name Devil's Gate because it was seen as a place haunted by evil forces. Murders and other bad events often happened there and many settlers were buried around the hill who died on the journey westward.

There weren't any signs when my husband and I visited this place. Only nature and this beautiful view of the world. Who knew it had such a fascinating history? We never even planned to visit this place. It was just a random decision. Random decisions on road trips often take you down the most interesting paths.

Photo credit: this is my own photo


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

What a cool story! Great pic! Have you ever been to the bad lands it's creepy. 🕊☮

I lived in South Dakota 3 years. The Bad Lands were actually part of this road trip. We went through SD to Wyoming, Idaho, Montana, and Utah just to see the sights.

Did you go to walnut grove? From little house on the prairie? I went there did you see buffalo? I got out of the car and took pics I was real close I was young and stupid lol ☮

It truly is a beautiful landmark with an interesting name to boot!

I really liked the name. It's got an interesting history for sure.

"Good read"


Upvote - Comment - Resteem

Huh. I wonder if any paranormal investigators have visited that area?

Sounds like the land version of the Devils Triangle lol. Very pretty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44