You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spanish Holy Week in Ronda

in #photography6 years ago

That's so fascinating! Those photographs are all beautiful. I'd heard of Spanish Holy Week but never really knew what it was. The costumes with the pointy hats are interesting. In our culture similar outfits are symbols of the evil KKK whereas it is a religious symbol in another culture. You should just write a photography book with all your wonderful pictures from when you lived in Spain with tidbits of history thrown in.

Sort:  

Thanks! From what I could find out in my research (and remember people saying), the hats go back to the 16th century in processions. I'm not sure how the Klan wound up with similar hats, but it means I have to give a thorough explanation before showing them to my Spanish classes here in the USA.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74