The Lonely Journey Project (NSFW Content)

The Lonely Journey Project

1.Entering The Darkness - Copy.jpg

This project - I made a while ago, yet it still holds a strong meaning to me! Lonely Journey project was inspired by a specific sad event in life, which resulted in grief… among many other feelings. But that's the one I chose to focus on.
I produced a series of images which I later made into a photo book that represent different stages of grief.

The project started with me brainstorming ideas, analysing the process and comparing my story to others experiences to get the best understanding of what grief process looks like, hoping to represent it in the truest way.
I then drew sketches of different images I would want to include, and finalized it to 12 photos which would follow a chronological order, having hidden messages symbolising the titles. I will share less than that, just so you can get a grasp of what the project looks like :)

IMG_4474new12.jpg
(Behind the scenes - Me in action )

Then the fun part began, I started location scouting and came up with 3 different locations to shoot in in one day (Yes, one day, like a maniac). The locations chosen were the tunnel in one of nearby towns, the abandoned building and the forest.
Then I managed to find a suitable model who was willing to participate, I found and gathered all the props for the images.
Last step was picking a day and making a strict schedule, with the order of locations and photos that need to be captured.
Then the day came! We set off early in the morning… got coffee for myself, my assistant and the model ( little thing I always do, is buy my team a hot drink :) My favorite way of bonding for the top teamwork skills! Haha)
We hit each location successfully, and had loads of laughs like when we went to McDonalds bathroom, all eyes were on us, the model in gorgeous white dress… and me… much like Rambo, sweaty, carrying all the photography gear…. So classy!

IMG_4661NEW5.jpg
(Behind the Scenes - Me in action)

The abandoned place was quite tricky, upon scouting, it was open to public. When I arrived, it was all closed and sealed, but heyy…. That wasn’t going to stop me. I found a little hole, which I squeezed through, with my gear (the fact I had to take everything out of the massive bag I had, and squeeze things through individually, should be irrelevant ;)

I made it nonetheless! With the model and assistant who would hold up reflectors for me or watch the door for us, to make sure we don’t get any unwanted guests when the model is nude.
I would like to add, that I came up with a pretty extensive health and safety risk sheet, and was fully prepared for each scenario and issue …. I would never put my team in any type of danger!
We were shooting there, in abandoned place... it was so peaceful. I would tell scenarios to the model, that she could follow to portray emotions I was after. It was a wonderful experience. Making something negative, into something positive and empowering!

Last location was the forest, that was at the end of the day, we were all run down and managed to reach the place before sunset. At this point we have been working/traveling for around 10 hours. We quickly changed the outfit, and looks to finish the narrative. I must say the forest was the best way to end this day! It was wonderful to work in my natural habitat hehe.
After the photos were taken, we rushed home! And I think all of us collapsed pretty much…. It was a lot of emotion and work to go through in one day hahah

Here's the results:

1.Entering The Darkness - Copy.jpg
''Entering The Darkness''

2. Prison Of Thy Own Mind - Copy.jpg
''Prison of Thy Own Mind''

3. Denial - Copy.jpg
''Denial''

5. Depression - Copy.jpg
''Depression''

9. Fear - Copy.jpg
''Fear''

10. Self Hatred - Copy.jpg
''Self Hatred''

11. The Awakening - Copy.jpg
''The Awakening''

12. New Path - Copy.jpg
''New Path''

So now, about the images…. The images consist of 12 stages of grief, with first image representing ‘’Entering the Darkness’’ which is another way of saying entering the journey of grief… the model is ghostly, running into the darkness within the tunnel.
Then the journey begins…. The whole story represents a psychological state, visualizing it in an emotive and creative manner. We see the model struggle with various emotions, battling with demons of past, until she reaches the end and conquers it.
In the beginning, her hair is black and gown is white… portraying how her mind is dirty, stained perhaps while her whole being is innocent and pure, towards the end- we see transition of white hair, which represent clarity in mind, but her gown is black which shows how her being now owned the experience, but she’s not the same innocent and pure person she once was. Same with body language, it’s quite closed at the start, and towards the end, she’s more confident, peaceful, owning her space and surroundings.
As for the rest of hidden messages, I’ll leave it to your interpretation! It wouldn’t be fun if I gave it all away! ;) The clues are in the titles of the images!

IMG_4940111-horz111.jpg

IMG_4953111.jpg

Upon the end, I decided to make a photo book, which was for the first time for me! I gathered different designs I drew, and finalized them to my favorite one. Then I used a combination of photoshop and book making software to finish it. There was a lot of sampling….. I was so happy when all the planning stage came to an end and I could crack on with production!
The printing time came! Nothing can describe the feeling of me seeing my work in print, it’s like... there...in my own hands… I can embrace it… it feels real.
I realize that I may sound a little like a crazy person, but seeing my work in print means a lot to me, especially after so much hard work put into production of this project.
The reason why I haven’t shared a complete set of images, is because I don’t want to reveal everything that’s in the book! I want to keep an element of excitement and mystery when I do put it up for sale. The book is also just a first part of the series that I plan on expanding :)

I hope you enjoyed these!
Your support and kindness has been amazing so far!
Thank you!

Cheers,
Marta x

Sort:  

I love these pictures and the story behind :)

I'm glad you do! Means a lot to me! :D

Very awesome post the pictures are awesome keep up the good work!!

Cool post! You can read how passionate you are about photography while reading the article :)

Thank you! I am glad I send this message across! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51