HONG KONG - A sort of second hometown #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

hk-flag

The first time I flew to Hong Kong was in 2013. My company had to attend an important Exhibition, so there I was, with one of my business partners.

Hong Kong

From what I had read at the time, I expected a busy crowded place with enough contradictions regarding modernity and tradition. I can say, now, that I got overwhelmed by the sheer sense of being at home, with nothing to worry about. No matter what time is it.

One of the first things that caught my eye was Victoria Harbour. The best place to enjoy it is from Central. This was the safe haven for shipping that once attracted the British first and later all the international trading after the colony was
established.

laser

Nowadays, business has shifted into the towers of Central and more land is needed to build more skyscrapers.

I suggest to cross the harbour by boat or walk along the waterfront to see all the maritime activity with ferries, junks, motorboats, cruise liners and sailing boats.

victoria-harbour

The International Finance Centre complex includes the IFC2 Tower that at the time of writing is the tallest structure in Hong Kong with its 420m. It is even taller than the Peak Tram's upper terminus.

hk

Here you can also admire the three marble and glass towers of Hong Kong's Stock Exchange in Exchange Square (a Remo Riva creation). Nearby we can find an open piazza with sculptures by Elizabeth Frink and Henry Moore.

Below, four shots from my first experience in Hong Kong. These pics were shot in Kowloon, an urban area in Hong Kong, comprising the Kowloon Peninsula and New Kowloon. This is the most populous urban area in Hong Kong, with a population of 2 million.

2013-04-12 19.03.38

2013-04-12 19.04.44

2013-04-12 19.07.29

2013-04-12 19.32.52

pics source: Pixabay except last four pics (shot by the post's author)

Sort:  

You got a 7.57% upvote from @booster courtesy of @marlon6!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

it's look like a beautiful place

it really is! With a lot of green areas too. This was a bit surprising, at least for me.

interesting and thanks for visiting us

Very nice images of HK! I've been in there as well! and I can't help but to feel impressed! It's a small Country but very high-tech, I can't believe the number of population though! But in spite of that, they keep the place clean, I don't feel suffocated, it's a nice place to visit especially the Ocean Park! lol

yes, one of the first things I noticed, is how clean the metro is (or also other places) and what an effort they put in cleaning, no matter what time is it. As an Italian, I also was very surprised by the disciplined queues for taxis and the metro :) simply impossible in Italy!

I didn't get there last month because I have an emergency. What places you are going to suggest with me for a first timer?

if you are into fashion and brands you have to take a walk in Canton Road (Kowloon). Lots of luxury shops there, never seen anything like that. Another place you may want to see is Victoria Peak, the highest point in HK (554m). Wonderful view from there, especially at night. If you like good kitchen, then you can try The Peking Garden or, if you are in Kowloon, Al Molo. Last thing I strongly suggest is to go from Kowloon to Central (and vice versa) by ferry. There are many other things to see of course. Probably Ocean Park is worth a visit too...the list is long :)

lovely, thanks for introducing Hong Kong, I wish not much changes will be done in the futures, wish.

thanks for reading my post! I think there will be more posts about HK, I have some pics to show. I also hope Hong Kong will not change much in the future but it seems unavoidable in a place like that, continuously evolving

This post has received a 6.0 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44