Imaginative Photography #37 Inverted

in #photography7 years ago

So, in this fine art picture you can see what happens when you invert or as some people call it - inverse.  So, everything that was black is now white. Reds and oranges become bluish.  If someone knows a way to figure out what colors will turn into when they are inverted, I would like to know that. It would help when I am taking pictures and want a certain color. I took this picture in downtown Sarasota, Florida. You can see at the top middle the sign on top of one of the buildings - One Sarasota Tower.  Most of the lights below that are from cars and a few lighted street signs. The exposure time on this picture was five seconds. I moved the camera back and forth as the shutter was open. 

 CAMERACanon EOS 40 DISO100FOCAL LENGTH28mm APERTUREf/11.0  EXPOSURE TIME5s (5/1) 

Below is the original picture. You can see everything that was black or dark is now white. You can see how all the other colors change. So, which picture do you like the best? I tend to like the inverted one, but I have had people argue over which one they like. I guess it is just your personal taste. 

I might post another example of this if I can fine one.  Remember, if you know a way to determine what will happen to colors when they are inverted, let me know in the comments.

100% my original work! Copyright 2017 ® Mark Vance Photography


 I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles", "Scandal", "Blackish" and "The Walking Dead".

All my pictures are from one capture and nothing is computer generated, except where noted. Then it is only an inversion or an increase in saturation only, not a change to the actual content of the picture.

I hope you find my pictures unusual, creative and in some cases inspiring. Everyone sees something different in my pictures. Enjoy!

Sort:  

wow this is impressive! I haven't thought of doing it with my camera... will it work the same with any camera?

You need a DSLR or any other camera where you can keep the shutter open. You usually need a good tripod. It looks easy, but it is hard to make it look like something, or be interesting. It took me a long time to figure it out. Give it a try if your camera can do it.

wow nice! i alwayes liked this photo shooting style but had no idea how it called.

nice post, beautiful art.....Well done, well done.... great presentation.

such ah creative art!!

Thank you very much !!! Thank you again and again for sharing this post because you did not just share this post. This post has been written in a beautiful manner by writing everything well.

great art picture...It uses the stylistic elements of one image to draw the content of another.

You are always up to something interesting with your post. Love it! Happy posting :)

I also like the inverted picture more, it has more brightness.

The true photography is excellent, but the color competition here is very good in your photography

verynice art photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49