Visited Helsinki

The sun was out after a couple of dreary weeks and my wife wanted to go on a trip somewhere. She suggested that we drive down to Helsinki only an hour away. She wanted to buy winter clothes for our daughter. I happily agreed because while the ladies were shopping, I could shoot some photos in Central Helsinki. I had too little time, though, because I had to find a service station because fuel was running low.

I also ran into someone I'd known from the Internet ever since I was at university and Usenet news group were a thing. I recognized her from a photo, said hello and introduced myself. We had a chat at Kauppatori market square by the sea where I also took the photos of the ships and the gulls. I told her about Steem. We'll see if she will ever get round to making an account. I mentioned I was available on Facebook if she had any questions.

Anyway, here are the photos that I took while my family was shopping.

DSC_0755

Helsinki Cathedral, the main church

DSC_0763

DSC_0764

One of the Sweden ferries.

DSC_0769

There are restaurants in those buildings. They're on islands a very short ferry trip away from the mainland.

DSC_0770

Another Sweden ferry

DSC_0773

DSC_0776

DSC_0781

This is one of the oldest part of Helsinki built in Empire style between late 18th century to early 19th century.

DSC_0782

Sort:  

Beautiful photos. What is the name of the white building. The Senate?

Helsinki Cathedral. It's the main cathedral of the city.

OK. A church.

It is so nice in Finland, I have been mostly in northern Finland, I am from Finnmark in northern Norway which borders Finland and my grand grandparents also came from Finland. Great pictures from Helsinki, it is on my list of visitors, thank you for sharing :-)

Helsinki seems awesome, i always wanted to visit it.

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.636 which ranks you at #5607 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 5609).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 286 contributions, your post is ranked at #166.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61703.75
ETH 2432.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63