Some Old Photos Of Mine Taken in 2015

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I didn't take any photos today. I thought I'd share a few old photos of mine, some shot with a Lumia phone I had earlier. The camera was good. I had to buy a new phone because the USB port that was used for charging the phone started having connection problems. Otherwise I would probably have kept on using it.

Until about March this year, I did not know the first thing about photography. I'm still quite ignorant but at least I try and give some thought to it when I shoot. When I look at the photos I took in 2015, 2016, 2017 and the first couple of months of this year (most of the earlier ones taken with the phone camera since 2013 are lost - and before that I didn't take photos, period), I can only say that awareness of the basics and caring about the result makes a difference. I don't think there is any need publish most of my old photos anywhere. Pictures of that quality are found in spades all over the Internet. But I will publish some, mostly photos but videos, too, because the subject might be of some interest.

The rest of the family was visiting in-laws for a couple of weeks in July. On my way to Tampere, I made a long detour northward to visit the municipality of Sysmä and the island of Päijätsalo first. Sysmä is on the eastern shore of the second largest lake in Finland, Lake Päijänne.

WP_20150718_011

At the end of the road in the village of Suopelto in the municipality of Sysmä. The act of taking this photo being visible in the car rear-view mirror is purely accidental.

There used to be 30 km long ferry connection across the lake to the western shore in the 1980's. The ferry had capacity for about ten cars. The connection was operated on state subsidies that were discontinued. It's a real pity because I would actually been willing to pay up to €50 to cross the lake instead of having to first drive about 50 km to Asikkala and then the same distance back north again on the other side of the lake. The island of Päijätsalo is close to this place. I left my car in the parking area and hiked about 2 km to a viewing tower there. Video below.

Sorry about the crap quality but you should be able to get a sense of the scale of the lake.

WP_20150807_001

Our cat at three months of age shortly after we brought it from Salo about three and a half hours' drive from where we live.

WP_20150813_003

This is my daughter going to school for the first time in her life.

It's too bad there exist no better photos of this important milestone in her life. I routinely made the typical clueless point-and-shoot non-photographer's mistake of not going close enough to the subject. She's too small in this one. This one could be cropped but image quality would be lost for no good reason. Just going closer would've fixed it. This is also unnecessarily a portrait. The fact that this is shot in a pedestrian tunnel is a good idea because it conveys the idea that something new and big is beginning in the subject's life. But the composition could've been better in many ways. We can discuss them below if anyone is interested. Even without monetization like on Steem, there is much value in decent photography skills. Better photos of moments like this will be more interesting and pleasant to look at.

Sort:  

Friend but those photos are very good I like very much the photo where the cell phone is reflected in the mirror, and the cat was already fairly large .. you know the best of the photos are the nice recuedos that they bring us to memory.

They are not very good. Seriously. The cat picture is fine. But the tunnel photo is flawed in many ways. Most importantly, it is flawed in the same way as nearly every picture I took of people back then: the subject is too small. Also, I was simply too lazy to step out of the car and find something interesting to shoot and emphasize it properly in the yellow building picture. Sure, it documents the place. But so what. Wouldn't it be more interesting to have your old pictures capture something interesting? If I was to go to that place now, I'd have a dozen or so pictures that would be technically much better and that would make a lot more sense. They wouldn't be anywhere near the best possible, of course. But I, for example, I didn't take a single picture on the foot path to the viewing tower. There were tons of things of interest to take pictures of everywhere: plants, forest views, an outcrop a short distance from the tower towards the lake with a fantastic view of the 20 km wide body of water between that place and the opposing shore of the lake. No pictures of those. One video from the top of the viewing tower. The tower itself was a sight to behold. Built in 1899, it was more than a century old. Only that video from the top and one stupid shot from a parking area that wasn't a disaster only by accident.

wow so 2015 was the year when your daughter joined school first time ... shes looking pretty in the dress pink bag 😍 cap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86