Photographing Moving Trains

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I decided to give shooting a freight train another go. I wanted practice finding the right exposure values to shoot this type of subject right. I was standing next to the track to shoot an oncoming freight train. The problem was the bright headlight. The fact the train was moving at a speed of about 50-60 km/h and the fact that I'd be using the 70-300 mm lens meant that I'd need a fast shutter speed. I picked 1/400 seconds. Last time around, @gamer00 advised me to overexpose the image a little bit in order to expose the shadows better and bring the exposure down while editing the photos. I picked 800 as the ISO value. I used f/6.3 as the aperture value. The pictures were overexposed straight out of the camera. I wouldn't have picked 800 as the ISO, maybe 600 but they double with each stop at the wheel. I a few of the pictures I brought up the shadows a little bit. The results below:

DSC_0823

Here's the first one.

DSC_0824

Here I brought down the exposure in editing and brought up the shadows a little bit.

DSC_0826

Ditto.

DSC_0828

The same edits here. I think these turned out better than the ones I took in December.

DSC_0829

This is how the one taken after the previous one looked straight from the camera. Overexposed on purpose.

DSC_0829_01

After bringing down the exposure and bringing up the shadows a little bit.

DSC_0830_02

This one was pretty long. It departed from the port of Loviisa, a small town about 90 km to the southeast of Lahti.

DSC_0841

I was standing far enough from the track the whole time. I'm not crazy. But with the long lens you can easily zoom in and make it appear as though you were next to the train. The train was quite loud.

Sort:  

I've just been out taking photos of trains and you're right they are noisy! You've done a great job and the colours of the train and carriages adds to the shots. Well done.

Thanks. Looking forward to looking at your train pics!

Wow! You have the patience. Very interesting results.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have always enjoyed trains and the amazing power that can be harnessed. Great job capturing the beauty of a train.

I do like trains. And the setting is remote and beautiful. Thanks for the great pictures @markkujantunen.

Hey @markkujantunen,

I would like to invite you to @APPICS as one of the first APPICS app testers!
APPICS is a new blockchain based social media application launching in Q2 this year. Similar to Steemit, users can earn cryptocurrency tokens for posting creative content, but different to Steemit, APPICS will be focusing on photos or videos instead of blogposts. With the APPICS app we give users the power to monetize time and creativity they spend on social media.

The app is currently in beta mode, running on the STEEM blockchain, so you can easily log in with your username and your private posting key as your password.

If you´re interested in joining APPICS, please send us an email at [email protected]

Feel free to visit our website Appics.com for further information.

I‘m looking forward to hear from you!

Best wishes,

Josephine

You got a 76.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @markkujantunen! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.778 which ranks you at #4885 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 39 places in the last three days (old rank 4924).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81