My Best Shots In January

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

My daughter and I returned from Tampere where we spent the weekend with my parents a few hours ago. My wife was correcting papers at home. I only did a couple of posts worth of photography and I will post the photos later. Today, I will pick ten favourites out of the photos I took in January and publish them here.

DSC_0897

We were returning from Tampere on January 3. We made a stop in Pälkäne about 35 km to the southeast of Tampere. It was about three in the afternoon. I love it how the sun makes the branches glow and how it creates a golden trail on the snow on top of the lake ice. I also love the colours of the sky. The branches creating the framing for the sun was a lucky accident.

DSC_0917

This is part of the same set as the previous one. What I like about this is pretty much the same as in the previous one. But I also hills across the lake have different hues depending on their distance.Perhaps I should try and create a simpler composition out of this by cropping out everything but the forest.

DSC_0920

Or perhaps this one is a better candidate for editing.

DSC_0954

A swan couple photographed the following weekend.

DSC_0397

That's a pretty ideal house.

DSC_0480

This one was taken one morning a short time after the snow on the lake ice between myself (standing next to Sibelius Hall) and the district of Niemi across the bay became exposed to the sun. Snow chrystals turned into gas condensating into microscopic droplets of water in the frigid -15 C cold caused this fog. The whole lake was covered by this fog.

DSC_0582

This is one of the series of portraits of our cat, Helmi.

DSC_0588

She must have spotted a fruit fly on the wall or something.

DSC_0601

I really like the composition and the somewhat unrealistic colors of this one. By overplaying the black levels I managed to bring out many hues of blue. What came out of the camera looked very bland and boring comparison. What you're looking at is the city center of Lahti shot from Mustakallionmäki hill in the east. Notice the radio masts on the crest of the ridge. The large building in the lower left is a threatre.

DSC_0746

The low winter sun illuminating but not giving much warmth on a cross country skiing trail.

DSC_0778_01

I couldn't help but take this one when I spotted it. You can make out the details of the ice chrystals here.

DSC_0857_01

A peaceful winter scene close just outside the suburbs.

DSC_0897

Let's end on a sweet note.

Sort:  

Hi markku. Hope you guys had a good weekend away with your parents. Some really good shots for January.

Gorgeous photos!! Really looking very impressive!! Your cat is very photogenic too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I love the pic in which Helmi looks away from the camera.

Yes! That’s the one I like best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome back from the trip. I noticed that you didn't blog for a couple of days. Welcome back to blogging.

I like the pinkish house and how the color "pops"!!

Thank you for your feedback! I appreciate it. Others have made comments along the same lines about other pictures like that. Glad to hear I'm doing that particular thing right!

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.666 which ranks you at #5463 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 5464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #186.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

ThAnk you for the analysis! Interesting!

Posted using Partiko iOS

ThAnk you for the analysis! Interesting!

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 47.89% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @markkujantunen!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Peacefull evening

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32