You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Marvel of Medieval Architecture - Part 1

in #photography8 years ago

This is a great informative post. The best book I have ever read was called "Pillars of the Earth". It's set in the medievil times, and one of the story lines follows a stone mason and his love and passion for one day being able to build a cathedral. Seeing from his fee point the intracacy, amount of work, and even the politics involved has forever changed the way I loo at this architecture, and this time period in general. Thanks for putting together this post!

Sort:  

It's nice to hear you enjoyed the post, and I sincerely appreciate you comment.

Yes, I think I would have to read a book like that to get more information to perhaps be better able to comprehend the task set before the Cathedral builder. Truly a momentous task indeed!

I love receiving comments, so I'm glad I to pay it forward. :) If you ever get the chance to get your hands on that book, I'd highly recomend it. Its by Kenneth Follet. I almost didn't read it because it is an intimidating 1000+ pages, but I decided to go for it, and I can tell you even after all those pages, I still didn't want it to end. It was enlightening to read from that perspective. You said it perfect when you said its a momentous task being a the Builder, and especially back in times when we had far less technology!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64