A Male Red-Winged Blackbird Singing (Agelaius Phoeniceus) - From Alaska to Aceh,

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians... It's a Bird "Agelaius phoeniceus" or often referred to as the Red-Winged Blackbird. The forest area of Tangse Aceh, bordering Aceh Barat, is a very remote area to reach by humans, I entered this forest, in 2012, accompanied by 3 of my college friends, who came from Medan. We traveled 2 days in the jungle, and settled for 5 days.

Today, I reopened some of the documents I took there, I saw a picture of a red-winged Blackbird, and I tried to find out, the name and the source of this bird.


NIKON D5300| Lens 150.0-600.0 mm f/5.0-6.3 | 450.0mm · f/6.0s · 1/1000s · ISO 400.


NIKON D5300| Lens 150.0-600.0 mm f/5.0-6.3 | 240.0mm · f/5.3s · 1/1000s · ISO 400

I am confused with some of the sources circulating on the internet, I do not know if this is a public hoax or anything like that, In the quotation below, I read that this stuff only breeds in America, Alaska, and several adjacent countries.

This quote I took from one of the popular sites today, Wikipedia

The red-winged blackbird (Agelaius phoeniceus) is a passerine bird of the family Icteridae found in most of North and much of Central America. It breeds from Alaska and Newfoundland south to Florida, the Gulf of Mexico, Mexico, and Guatemala, with isolated populations in western El Salvador, northwestern Honduras, and northwestern Costa Rica. It may winter as far north as Pennsylvania and British Columbia, but northern populations are generally migratory, moving south to Mexico and the southern United States.

I also saw a map of the area from the distribution of this bird, this looks funny, does not even make sense. Actually, I found this bird in Aceh.


Image Source


Or even the central government in Jakarta that complicates, enters researcher in this country, with assumptions.


To see more pictures of some of the birds I catch, you can follow me.


follow.gif

Sort:  

Amazing photography! Thanks for sharing! I'm also interested in photography!

Amazing Picture.. @magh

Thank you @budifatria 😉

Maghhh... always amazing! 😋

Bird is the word

We have also found many irony in such a way. But, apparently, it is because in Aceh, in fact, in Sumatra, I think, very little scientific research is done about the wild, especially by the people of Aceh itself. We, here, are too busy with trivia. It was unfortunate.

I even dare say no, Even if there is research, it is just for the money alone, to take personal advantage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69