Drone DJI Mavic Pro - My buying experience & things to knowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Being a photographer for several years now, I wanted to acquire aerial equipment to diversify my photographs. Wishing to start my own business at the beginning of the year 2018, I decided to invest in a drone that keeps the road quality level, and at the same time is compact enough to take it everywhere easily, even when travelling.

So I did my little survey on the Net at the end of September, during several days, reading various comparative articles and Youtube videos.


DSC_2594-2.jpg

My drone in mid-air



Very quickly, I realized that my choice was going to be the DJI Mavic Pro, compact, light, with a 28mm camera at f/2.2 of opening and filming in 4K. The only brake to this purchase for me was its price, because this drone is sold (without discount) at 1199 euros in simple version (just the drone, the joystick and the battery). At the end of the day, it can easily be found at 1000 euros on Amazon. But it was always too expensive for me.
When my birthday arrived, I knew that I would have some money to help me acquire it. But I had to find a way to get it cheaper.


IMG_0314.jpeg
The arms and propellers fold fully against the drone body.



IMG_0315.jpeg
Size of the drone when unfolded



IMG_0323.jpeg
Folded joystick



IMG_0321.jpeg
Joystick unfolded. Connect the smartphone to the cable and connect it to the DJI GO 4 app for image feedback.



After searching, I found an article praising the services of the Chinese site Gearbest, with a great promotional code for the Mavic Pro. I could get it for 700 euros. After a quick check on the site's reliability, I started this adventure, buying the transport bag at the same time.

I have taken the long term but free delivery "French line colissimo". The parcel normally arrives within 15 to 25 days.


IMG_0327.jpeg

IMG_0325.jpeg

The ultra-compact bag



The articles arrived on time but were delayed (first the drone (the most important one) and then the bag a few days later). The only black spot of the delivery, the box was quite damaged as you can see in the pictures below. But fortunately, the material itself did not suffer any damage.


IMG_0328.jpeg

IMG_0329.jpeg

Things to know :


  • The drone battery is designed to last 27 minutes maximum. It is therefore advisable to have at least 1 to 2 spare batteries (we can find them between 85 and 100 euros each...)

  • To enjoy the visual feedback (which is essential for those who want to make photos and videos (and even for others who just want to get a picture feedback) it is necessary to have a phone compatible with the DJI GO 4 software. ! ATTENTION! DJI works with Apple and their drones are optimized for Apple use. It does work with some Android phones, but make sure you have at least 350-400 euros minimum. (To know that I didn't know it before I bought the drone, I had to buy a phone to use my acquisition... This is why I would like to inform future buyers). I find this is a really sectarian practice, and although I'm very happy with my drone, I don't endorse their methods.

  • If you buy through Gearbest for your purchase, please note that the warranty will not be taken into account in your country. It is therefore advisable to take out DJI Care refresh insurance to avoid any problems during the first year.

  • Still if you buy through Gearbest, you will have to send them a message so that they send you the real invoice of your purchases (initially I I had received invoices of an amount of 20$ which did not correspond to my purchases).

Conclusion



-If you are interested in this drone and you are not limited to 200 or 300 euros, buy through Amazon or another reseller in your country, you will save time and you will be sure to receive your drone in an irreproachable state (c. f. my box stoned...).

-But if, like me, your budget is limited, Gearbest can be a solution.

-! ATTENTION! However, hidden investments (c. f compatible phone (in any case (whether you buy it from a reseller in your country or abroad) and insurance...)


I hope you will have been interested in this feedback. Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. Also, if you liked this article, don't hesitate to comment, upvote and resteem this post.



............................................................................................

All pictures presented in my post are personal photos - © all rights reserved

Sort:  

very good drone.

Yeah, that's right, I'm very happy about that drone.

I wish want you to make nice video)

Thank you very much ! For the moment I mostly take pictures with the drone, I'll post some occasionally :)

Sorry( now I'll look at your posts))

With great pleasure thanks :) For the moment I haven't put a picture made with my drone yet, but it should be soon :))

That's a good detail about the phone compatibility. And would you recommend this drone for general use--like, just some experimentation, a little photography, getting weather data, property surveillance etc. Or is it optimal for photography only?

I don't know the regulations in your country, but in France it's forbidden to fly over properties and in cities, so for surveillance purposes, it's not really allowed.
I don't know about the weather data.
For leisure flight and video/photography, it's really good. The drone is very stabilized.

Oh, I was just trying to give some examples of what I meant by "general use." I think I'm wondering if the model is a good all-around drone. But that battery life is so short!

I've only been thinking casually about getting a drone, but now you've got me more interested. Good post!

Thank you again!
The battery is not that short, only a few drones exceed it in autonomy (Parrot Disco (45 min) and Phantom 4 pro (30 min)).
Distance level, the Mavic pro can go up to 7km and 500m in height (but limited to 150m by the laws in France)

Was the 700€ offer only for a limited time? I cant find it on gearbest now.. :(

Check often on google by typing "mavic pro gearbest", they often do offer with discount code

Hmm okay...
Thanks anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30