The trials and tribulations of drinking coffee in Alaska

in #photography6 years ago

KIMG0576.JPG

I've been hanging out with the cat today. Which made her so happy she scratched me. Which was lame.

KIMG0581.JPG

Earlier I walked around and tried to get some pictures of the landscape after we got a tiny little snow. My pictures didn't come out great, but the landscape looked pretty epic in person.

KIMG0586.JPG

Having spent the beginning of the week doing a bunch of medical appointments/tests/etc. after becoming insured up here in AK for the first time in years, I'm in a peculiar mood. It is funny to be in a place with a.) an excellent healthcare system and b.) stores that keep hilariously random hours as pictured below:

KIMG0587.JPG

The highlight of my day was being accused of attempting to steal a coffee cup by a barista at the coffee shop that closes at 3pm. The dumbfuck apparently missed that I'd been taking my coffee out to the pole of shame for cigarette time whenever I drank coffee at the place. The whole thing was very weird, and I think it may have been a social faux pas to respond to his, "Hey! Sir! Sir! You can't take our cup! Sir, you can't take our cup!" with words along the lines of, "Ha! You kidding me right now? I've already got to walk like a hundred feet just to smoke. Now what? I can't even have coffee while I smoke?"

Even though I didn't curse, or even call him a fascist, this barista did look pretty offended when I just walked out the door sipping coffee, and hiked over to the to the patch of gravel where smoking's permitted without waiting for whatever else he might have had to say.

Sort:  

Wow. That town sucks at coffee shops...

Yup. It's super weird. Like being in coffee shop twilight zone.

Unfortunate incident at the coffee shop but beautiful landscape...

Yes, one of the most beautiful places I've been in: )

What town ya in?

Sitka, AK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36