Scenes from my current reality on a remote Alaskan island

in #photography6 years ago

Sitka, Alaska is one of those rare places where I sort of fit in with little effort. After just a few days here, I'm beginning to get settled.

It helps that this is the view from my front door:

KIMG0441.JPG

And it's convenient that downtown is just a few blocks away:
KIMG0438.JPG

The stunning natural beauty also seems to be taking some of the edge off of my personal finances being totally fucked following the surprise three day hospital stay that kicked of my new year.

Indeed, with views like this, it is hard to stay frustrated by how hilariously unwilling most of my friends and family members have been to merely share a link to my crisis recovery fund on their social media accounts:

KIMG0451.JPG

Here in Sitka, my best friends are an eagle and a bunch of ravens. I'm on good terms with the humans too, of course, but an eagle and dozens of ravens are my only real friends here so far:

KIMG0442.JPG

When I'm not conversing with birds or chopping tobacco with my sweet new (used) ulu, I continue plugging away at my several long-term business ventures, all of which continue to unfold in better-than-anticipated ways.
KIMG0455.JPG

So however bad my personal cash crunch may be at the moment, I remain remarkably unworried, and just put on stuff like this at high volume to dance away whatever concerns creep up into the very long Alaskan nights I've been enjoying.

Sort:  

I need proof of this "dancing" that you speak of. Vids, or it didn't happen!

Sitka seems like a really cool spot! I'm in Seward. It's good to know of other Steemians in AK. Is it anything like The Proposal? Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Good to meet you. Yeah there are some things like the proposal. Metered internet, for one: )

I can't believe a raven is hanging out with an eagle!

According to the birds, this is perfectly normal in these parts.

Congratulations @mada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80