AK coffee shop review and more pictures from the edge of the world

in #photography5 years ago

KIMG0534.JPG

I've been trying and failing to find a decent place to work since arriving in Sitka, Alaska a week and half ago. The closest thing to a real coffee shop that I've been able to find is called Fish Eye.

Pros: They serve excellent fresh juice and acceptable coffee. They have actual regular wifi, and aren't weird about letting you use it. The people working and the clients all seemed great (no one gave me the old Alaska stink-eye, or made it impossible to work due to insane muttering inches from my head ... which has been my experience elsewhere here). They are centrally located in the town's main business district, as can be seen in this picture, taken from their parking lot:

KIMG0532.JPG

Cons: They close at 3pm. Seriously. 3pm. Also, the music was all sad-cowboy country music. I know I'm in the wild west and everything. I don't expect any place to be playing stuff that I'm currently listening to. But I genuinely loathe sad cowboy music in any situation that doesn't include a campfire and cans of beans for dinner. The final con here is the fact that I had to walk like 25 yards to a pole-of-shame on a big patch of gravel outside a weird little bodega just to smoke. It seemed like my stuff was safe-ish whenever I walked away, so that wasn't a concern. But I may as well have been at a hospital or airport or something for how far I had to go to smoke.

KIMG0535.JPG

Overall, though, this is by far the best place I've so far found to sit and work here in Sitka. And, surprisingly, today has so far been warm and sunny. Dreamy, even, with the mist.

KIMG0522.JPG

I know the polar vortex is playing hell on my Minneapolis people. But up here, the days look more like scenes from anime than scenes from north of the wall in Game of Thrones.

KIMG0531.JPG

Still, my only real friends here are ravens. So maybe this place is more like Game of Thrones than I'm willing to admit: )

Sort:  

You had me laughing really hard when I read the part about country music because we’re currently listening to “Feathered Indians” thanks to Aaron. I found myself searching for a camp fire and a can of baked beans. 😆

Haha. Once upon a time when Shawn still worked there and was playing sad cowboy music at top volume, I went so far as to create a detailed illustration of a sad cowboy scene, complete with dying horse and clear written labels for all scene elements, which I tacked to the bulletin board: ) Might be time for someone to draw a replacement...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84