A hike in the rainforest

in #photography5 years ago

KIMG0629.JPG

Today was one of those days that could have been a real bummer. I woke from poor sleep to clouded thinking brought on by bodily soreness, and realized it was time to sell my very last little bits of spare crypto due to my financial destitution. Fortunately, I have feet, and am currently living in a rainforest.

KIMG0595.JPG

As it turns out, it was a great day for a hike up the Indian River Trail. I didn't do the complete 9+ mile circuit, but did hike something close to that, and had the forest mostly to myself (and the ravens) due to it being the middle of winter.

KIMG0618.JPG

Even though I knew it was futile, I kept trying to take pictures that illustrated the scale of things. I mean, there were plenty of trees that were 6-8 feed in diameter at the base, but they all just look like regular trees in pictures.

KIMG0594.JPG

Here's a selfie of me leaning against a 4 ft diameter tree. Even with my person to compare it to, the tree's epic size doesn't quite come across.

KIMG0606.JPG

Here's a picture of the Indian River that shows how green it can get. Unusually, this river was both green and red at different points along it.

KIMG0623.JPG

And, finally, a picture of my favorite little tree stump of the day.

Sort:  

The difference in weather is still freaking me out.
Your photos make me want to go someplace that's reasonably warm... like Alaska?

This climate is weird ... just in the forest where I was today, there were lots of spots where it was maybe 15-20 degrees at ground level and something like 40 degrees several feet up. This made the ice move in some very strange ways.

That is super weird.

Man, @mada. That's a beautiful area. I think it's been good to clear your head and get in to nature. The snow here is beautiful and you're missed, but make the most of these rainforest hikes while you can.

True enough. I haven't spent nearly enough time in forests the last couple of years. This year I'm resolved to make up for it ... and I'll be up here in AK for another 6 weeks at least: )

let's upvote each other

Congratulations @mada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Those are tabis. Nice. Recently started barefoot hiking. I think it can reactivate so much to just feel the ground again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46