Moss

in #photography6 years ago



Moss reaching towards the sun

Our minds often get clouded with clutter of thoughts so much so that we stop seeing anything around us. Especially in our usual environment. You see people walking same paths, but they are not really looking or seeing. They walk heavy with the noise of their own thoughts or stare at their screens, avoiding to deal with decluttering and clearing the clouds away.

Don’t they feel claustrophobic? I do. It is almost like looking at painting from far too close distance. So focused on details they cannot grasp the fullness. Convinced it is the way to figuring it out they become blinded to the harm they do to themselves in the process. Losing that focus seems almost counter intuitive. Holding tight to some sort of idea or illusion of control even with the lack of oversight.



I’ve been spending more and more time in nature and training myself to be more aware of my surroundings. To look and see magical, tiny worlds that might be hiding out there. Not listening much to the chatter, but exploring and enjoying physical spaciousness and shifting thoughts away creating also more spaciousness in my mind.

Song of the day: Cymande - Brothers On The Slide
Sort:  

I am trying to get myself to leave my room these few days. My skin colour is fading and my eyes hurt. I don't sleep well at night and I have few friends and those ones are miles away.

Getting out sure helps to reorder ones thoughts. See people, hear people talk, watch animals, trees, the sky, feel the wind on one's face.. These are some of the things I no longer do.
I think I will get a digital camera to help me along. I really need to be saved from my thoughts.

Thank you for sharing @warpedpoetic! For sure me getting my camera has helped me with wishing to go outside more and capture, explore my surroundings. That is a great idea and good for your health as well :)

Yes! With spring approaching and everyone getting some more sunshine and time outside many, I hope, will come out of the winter blues.

Fresh air, time in the garden, time just playing with nature and others in direct view may help a lot with the chatter.

Humans suck as you know but we tend to be a better class of animal when we get sunshine and fresh air.

I feel like I've gradually been switching between the two extreme modes of looking at a painting up close, too close to see the grandeur of the piece, and looking at it from too far away, so that the details are lost.

At first, you'd maybe think that the goal is to find a happy medium... Close enough to see a lot of details but far away enough to also see the "big picture" ... But I don't know.

Maybe sometimes we need one of the two extremes at particular stages of our life.

I’ve been spending more and more time in nature and training myself to be more aware of my surroundings. To look and see magical, tiny worlds that might be hiding out there.

I took a book out of the library once, about how to paint. The salient point I took from it, if I have forgotten everything else, is that an artist has to learn to truly see before any technique can help you become better.

I've often wondered exactly what that means but I think your words above capture it nicely. Just being more aware.

Indeed. I've gone through some extremes as well and it is sometimes difficult to find the right balance and sometimes I've not noticed the fact that I've looked from too close or from too far away because of lack of awareness of what exactly is happening.

Sometimes as I paint I turn the paper around to see from different angles and look at it from different distances to spot things that need extra love, also when I take pictures of my artwork I play around with different angles and see what happens.

I guess it is little bit more complicated with our perception of things, happenings and life, but doesn't hurt to try.

Yes it would be great to have a way of doing that whenever we want with our lives, hehe. They say meditation is good but I have yet to try it. Most of the time, I feel like my life is a river and I just need to go with it. Avoiding rocks and things along the way, and enjoying the moments when it's deep and wide and I get to appreciate things more.

Really creative shots, good work!

Thank you! :)

Congratulations very good cap, greetings.

You got a 51.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Thanks for testing :D

So love the color balance on the second image. Keeping those yellows just right and still making the red pop... awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74