Dandelions

in #photography6 years ago

“I have nothing to add..” she said and shied away, secretly wondering what’s wrong with her, wishing she could escape, hide forever and ever, where tiny, lavender scented roads whisper her name. If only there was a way to tap someone’s consciousness without any disturbance or intrusion of their true nature and being, witness the pure draft of unfiltered thought..



Dandelions at the sunset

We all have heard someone to express the feeling that they have nothing to say or add, or write about. Which is simply not true. We all have our unique experiences and perception. However, we keep shying away or say it’s going to be boring for people to read. It is nothing others haven’t already figured out. Maybe. Quite possibly so. So what? It isn’t about other people or their entertainment. Unless, everything you do has a price tag or it is your grand mission to entertain.

How come it is so important these days to put on a filter of entertainment on everything? We wish to amuse ourselves to death? You will be surprised of some things others find fascinating or interesting about your oh, it’s boring. I think people actually prefer and relate with genuine, authentic and more down to earth experiences over overhyped, overdramatized entertainment that screams fake on top.

Write your boring. I recently told my friend “Write about snow”. I was dead serious about it as well. Some weeks later I wrote about ice cracking on the lake. Something very ordinary to here where I live, something many have experienced, but somewhere, on the other side of the world some have never seen or heard of such a thing in their lives. It was amazing to see that they enjoyed reading about it or would love to experience it themselves some day. Beauty of Steem community.

Stop filtering your thoughts and experiences with the filter of entertainment and tell your stories!





Song of the day: Lorde - Glory And Gore  

Sort:  

Oh I think that everything you say so true, without a doubt I have felt very identified with your post. Many times we swallow our thoughts, feelings and ideas and we are forced to shut up when what we most want is to raise our voices. We usually stay with that bitter aftertaste and that discomfort of not having said what we felt and thought.
Saying what one feels is much more important than it seems, and is that the first reason to say what one feels is that it will make us feel good, that feeling of freedom will go through our body. This sense of well-being is especially evident when we speak from the deepest part of our being, with respect, love and affection.
I believe that if we are able to overcome those fears and to say what we feel we will be showing ourselves just as we are. By hiding our thoughts or feelings we are hiding ourselves, we create a barrier with the rest of the world that is very difficult to break. However, by opening the door and letting out the feelings we can enjoy much more of them, but also the gestures and reactions of those around us, those people to whom we have spoken. If we don't, the rest will have a blurred image of us.
In short, I believe that assertiveness with oneself is the key to saying what one feels. It is the only way we have to express our authentic desires and feelings, and the first step is to be clear when we express ourselves!
By the way, if it's not too much trouble I wanted to invite you to read my posts. I would greatly appreciate if you take the time to read them, and in case you like them, I would appreciate it if you would give me a vote, a comment, or a resteem.
You have my vote, and I stay attentive to your next publications!

Thank you for your comment @mjzo! :)

It is often I feel I can't break my own barriers to say what I really would want to say and the same way for people to get across those barriers takes a lot of effort. Mostly people are not interested enough to do so unfortunately. Hence, why I often feel disconnected by my own doing, by my own cage I've created for myself and can't break free. It is also work in progress and well I am aware of the issue. Luckily I now have willingness to try again :)

There are many people who find it difficult to express what they think, but they are more difficult to express what they feel. Culture and education have an important weight in this issue.
Expressing feelings is learned in childhood: that's why children who have grown up in homes where parents did not show affection, where the father never recognized being proud, where the mother kept silent when she felt lonely or depressed or where children had to contain their anger, today they are adults with serious problems to make known what they feel.
One of the reasons why we do not express what we feel is to avoid conflicts. Some believe that this way he avoids hurting another person, and he does not realize that the damage is done when he represses himself. Another reason may be the fear of feeling rejected or believing that they will not understand you. This is solved by improving self-esteem and communicating assertively.

Expressing what we like, what makes us afraid, saying things that generate joy, those we perceive with disgust, express our gratitude or show apologies is what helps us to release and share our feelings, and is the best way to feel good

Suppressing feelings can make you sick. In fact, people who constantly repress what they feel, whether by shame, by shyness or fear, they end up sick. There are some diseases directly related to the inability to express emotions and feelings: stomach pains, ulcers, heart attacks , hypertension and irritable bowel syndrome are some examples.

good photography needs a quiet state to take these pictures

Thank you for stopping by @husana :) It was a lovely day and peaceful evening. Just working away at the garden and catching last glimpses of the sunset.

You got a 98.27% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Really nice piece. I can't stand fake or the people who promote it. Even if what I find isn't all glam, I'll like it if it is real. Love the photos to. I see those little seeds blow around in the wind and think of them as souls of those we lost just checking in on us.

I have slowly become more and more reserved with what I share in written form because over the years, when looking back at previous writing, I feel kind-of embarrassed ;P ... (The poems I've been sharing every Tuesday for example... I skipped a few, in fact, because they were so bad, lol). I now much prefer visual expression =)

But you're quite right... Whenever I ever tried over-embellishing my writing, that was when I most regretted it later... As this line states, from the Desiderata by Max Ehrmann:

Speak your truth quietly and clearly

Do you know the Desiderata? =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53