You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 8 Basic Principles Of Underwater Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A really cool article, and with beautiful photos to match. What do you shoot on, and how much do you think that you depend on your gear for getting the shots you want? Also, do you draw any inspiration from NatGeo photographer Paul Nicklen? Your sea lion shots remind me greatly of some of his, and they are a perspective I absolutely love.

Sort:  

I shot with a canon camera and lens. My gear for diving is very different from my gear when I was teaching diving. Over the years I streamlined my equipment in every way depending on where I'm going, the conditions I'll be diving in and what animals I'll be shooting. Gear is a tool and aids in the vision that you have of a scene or a shot you want to create. Understand and learning your equipment is a must to get to a point where you are totally comfortable in the water and then able to just shot uninhibited.

As for Paul, he is an idol and an inspiration to me. I have been on several trips with him and we have dove together before. He is a genius when it comes to underwater image making. I grew up with Nat Geo and always wanted to be published in the mag, but I still haven't made it. I'm lucky and have had the honour of being in other publications around the world. Thanks for all the questions.

Wow. That is absolutely incredible. Paul was in Homer (My hometown) a few years back doing a report on a massive otter dieoff, and I really wish I could have met him then, as he is someone I greatly admire also. Thanks for the awesome reply. @scottdphoto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44