FREEZING RAIN MEANS SPRING IS HERE!

in #photography6 years ago

Spring is more than lovely in Montreal. Is always surprising, as you never know what to expect. Snow? Rain? Sun? Wind?Freezing rain?

DSC_0642.JPG

Yesterday we got a bit of everything!

DSC_0671.JPG

Let's have a closer look! Everything was covered in ice.

DSC_0672.JPG

DSC_0699.JPG

There were icicles even on the top of the snow shovel.

DSC_0669.JPG

IMG_20180416_075643.jpg

I wasn't able to open my recycling bin as a thick layer of ice was covering it.

DSC_0676.JPG

Even Mr. Froggy was frozen.

DSC_0697.JPG

The pulley clothesline as well.

DSC_0677.JPG

Have a look at the layer of ice of this wall! Th icicles on top seemed to match perfectly!

DSC_0681.JPG

The icicles on this building resembled of fringes.

As the branches of the trees were iced, they made a creepy sound when the wind was blowing.

DSC_0675.JPG

These clothes pegs got my attention, as they were so colourful!

DSC_0682.JPG

Usually I have lots of squirrels coming on the balcony, but yesterday they did not show up.

DSC_0684.JPG

I guess they did not like the freezing rain either.

DSC_0689.JPG

DSC_0695.JPG

DSC_0701.JPG

Towards the evening the sun made its appearance and melted the ice.

IMG_20180416_190228.jpg

What about you? How was your day?

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to re steemit or up vote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg
Dreamcatcher.jpg

Sort:  

So pretty, but too cold for spring time.

Indeed. Way too cold. Sorry, I just saw your message now.

I really love the quality of the pictures where you show all these great details :D
The weather in my city was crazy too. On Sunday we were almost melting of hot weather and now is either raining or we are covered by a cold wind..

Thanks! It's global warming. The weather patterns are changing everywhere around the globe.

Now this is what I call photography . I wish I were there to see for myself.

quick question... are those ice healthy enough to chill up my rum?

Hahahhah! I wouldn't put these in my rum! I think you might be safer using ice cubes made with tap water ;0)

Ugh! I am in Michigan and that ice storm that came through was brutal. My wife and I sat at home just waiting for the power to go out. The wind was just as bad as the freezing rain. We got lucky and came out pretty much unscathed. Thanks for sharing your great pictures. As dangerous as it is, ice always produces some beautiful shots!

The power did not go off but it was hectic to walk as everything was frozen. Thanks!

Nice photo-series @lymepoet! That sound of creaking ice. I know that sound, and it's really spooky. My town in Indiana was hit with a severe ice storm (many years ago) and everything had a similar layer of ice. The haunting sound of those trees creaking in the wind is a sound I'll never forget! Best wishes...

I had heard the sound before, as it wasn't my first ice storm, but my son found it really spooky! Thanks for the read and comment.

Oooh freezing rain all looks strange to me haha it's my first time hearing freezing rain but they look beautiful on those pictures.
@lymepoet are they beautiful also looking them live? Otherwise thank you for sharing what's going on at home.

If you are not in a hurry and don't need to scrape the ice of your car to go to work, then yes, it is beautiful.

Oh man, I've been seeing all my friends in Toronto post about this same storm front, and as beautiful as everything looks when it's covered in ice, I am SO THANKFUL that I live in sunny, warm Southern California!! hahaha!!

Great photos though, it's really amazing to see the extent of the freeze!

Thanks! I wouldn't trade the Californian weather for our one either! I'd be happily enjoying the sun than the freezing rain. lol

I really dont like the cold but icicles can make for such cool photos as you have shown here

I don't like the cold either, but they looked too cool!

They sure did :)

Absolutely fantastic picture and capturing the ice! We have quite warm wheather in Austria rignt now, I was barefoot outside today;)

Barefoot? I so miss that! ;0) Thanks for stopping by!

Haha, yes its amazing! I love that we finally have spring here and can walk barefoot in the gras! Made my first recipe video ever today, outside;)

Wow cold snaps like that are the worst but create such beautiful things we have been in spring now about three weeks here soon you will have the warmth of the sun.

This winter has been extremely long. I felt it even longer because I haven't had a winter in couple of years, cause I was on the road, escaping the cold. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66