Sunset Across Lake Erie

in #photography6 years ago

”When the sun has set, no candle can replace it.” -George R.R. Martin

Abi and I are in the Cleveland, Ohio area for the week helping a friend move. On our way to our destination we discovered a parking lot overlooking Lake Erie.

I have heard of the lake effect that my Canadian, Michigan, and Ohio friends are familiar with, but I’ve never seen the lakes in the winter.

Much of the lake that we could see from the shore was frozen over. However, there was a small section around the port where an icebreaker cleared a path for ships.

The little kid in me thought about skipping across that frozen tundra like it was a cloud. I thought better when the wind began to make its presence known.

Now I know what @old-guy-photos sees every year when the temperatures fall.


Sort:  

Funny thing is sooo many guys get stranded on the ice when fishing and it breaks up. I heard the coast guard started charging them for the rescues!! Great shots my friend, and thanks for the mention!

I heard the coast guard started charging them for the rescues!!

That is a good way to deter those habits, lol.

Uh yeah, ditto to everything Deb said about Lake Erie but you mentioned wind....we had the shingles blown right off our roof (new home) and the power was out continually b/c the power lines were always down and the little towns rolled up the sidewalks on Sunday so forget about restaurants...
Yeah, loved the big sky but it can't beat our tiny Victorian village surrounded by the Niagara escarpment and literally hundreds of waterfalls....just sayin', lol

Lake Erie is very beautiful and whips up storms very quickly due to the shallow and warmer waters.

I'm glad you thot better of it and didn't try walking on ice - you'd soon find you were walking on water then sand at the bottom of the lake!!!

I really miss living near Lake Erie - our country house. Big sky and lots of country and small towns.

I've been to Cleveland, years ago and saw Lake Erie from the US side too. Same. hehe

Very soft and pretty sunset Lydon. Glad you two are still travelling and having some fun.

I've been to Cleveland, years ago and saw Lake Erie from the US side too. Same. hehe

Good to know, lol.

You are always so sweet, Ms Deb.

@ lydon.sipe Excellent views. I am a lover of sunsets and post a related post here in steemit. I live in a coastal area and here we also have spectacular sunsets. For the next one I would like to visit you. Best regards

Sunset Across Lake Erie is quite amazing,you are the best photographer i have ever seen.

Beautiful view there wow that's so stunning thanks for sharing this amazing shots and post :D

How cool the frozen lake looks. Perfect especially at sunset.
I liked the composition and the shots. very successful . congratulations and respects. my dear friend. have a nice day !

How cool photos you just captured here :)

I've seen Michigan partly frozen. It was really amazing experience :) Great post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79