Rocky Mountain Majesty

in #photography7 years ago

Abi and I are still on the road and enjoying every minute of it.

We made a short stop in the Rocky Mountains when our brakes started to feel spongy. It was a good decision because when we stepped out of the truck, there was smoke emanating from the pads.

We found a stunning look out to take some pictures of the valley below and the mountains around us.


I have heard tales of the Rockies since I was a little guy - their legend lives up to the hype.


We hope you are spending time with special friends and loved ones this New Years Day. May you have a blessed time.


Sort:  

I got to see the Rocky's when driving from Oregon to Oklahoma, they are breath taxingly rugged and beautiful. You caught some amazing scenes along with wonderful friendly smiles.

they are breath taxingly rugged and beautiful.

Haha, that is a perfect way to describe them. I’ll use breath taxing now. :)

Oh yeah, like to coldness freezes your breath before you can get it in your lungs...It's like that here in OK right now. Oh...I just noticed my typo hahahaha, my eyes are getting old. I have a horrible time with my typos, I need new glasses to see close up.

Yes, spending all the time from Christmas through the New Year with my wife and girls and it's been wonderful. No Rockies for us this year, but I hope to get the girls to Colorado next winter for some snow and skiing. Enjoy the rest of the trip and stay safe out there.

Yes, spending all the time from Christmas through the New Year with my wife and girls and it's been wonderful.

Time spent together is truly wonderful. A blessed New Year to you, @moneyinfant.

Thank you so much :)

Beautiful scenery, Thanks! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

So glad you got to experience the mountains!! Majestic indeed!

I love the photo of you and Abi....your smiles are as bright as the sunshine. I'm glad you pulled over with spongy brakes!! That's a scary feeling, been there done that.

Thank you for your sunshine inducing reply, Ms Deb. We are thankful our Father was watching over us.

Happy New Years Lyon, and many blessing to your wife! Hope your car is ok man, I know how expensive maintenance can be!

Other than the pic of you and your beautiful wife, my fav pic is the third one! I just feel like the horizontal view really does that sun set and back drop justice!

Oh and Steem just surpassed $5 if your eyes haven't been glued to the charts haha!

The truck is feeling good. I looked things over before we left Kansas.

I love that third pic as well. The panorama setting on the iPhone takes some great shots.

What a great sight this morning! We were out of signal last night so the price rise was a nice surprise.

okay, that's great you spotted smoke coming from the brake pads but you're in mountain country. Don't you think you should head to the nearest garage or take a break from driving until they get fixed? Sorry, but if that were Deb in that car I'd yell for her to get off that mountain...come to think of it, that's just what I did when she phoned me from Whistler in BC, lol

Well, we are off the mountains now. Kansas is pretty flat and the brakes feel good. My father-in-law gave the truck a good tune up before we left. Thank you for caring for us so much, John. We love you.

thanks, lydon. I'm so glad you guys are okay. That was scary. Yeah, I do tend to be a worrier. As Deb says, you can't wrap up everyone you love in bubble wrap....hmm, might work if you could :)
.

I’ll keep my eye out for a bubble wrap sale. :)

ha ha, speaking of bubble wrap I just received my Himalayan salt lamp from Amazon - It's set up in my room. It's very cheerful and has a dimmer switch. Every time I look at it I'll say a little prayer for you guys :)

That was quick! Curious to see how it helps you. I know your prayers will aid us. :)

BTW, I always pray, 'I receive all the prayers sent my way, Lord, according to your word and will.' I don't want to be praying at cross-purposes for your life. I mean, you might really need to go up some mountains :)

I love that prayer. Agreement with others, and our Lord, is a good thing. And yes, mountains are a necessity in my book. :)

Amazing photography by you really looking wonderful have a great year ahead and keep sharing

Thank you. A blessed year to you @cityslicker.

Jesus Christ will always keep his ways. Blessings to you. Happy new year 2018

Mmm, amen. Thank you @cricri27. Blessings to you and your 2018 as well.

Good call on the brakes! Have fun!!

Thank you. Oh, we are!

ahh the view is magnificent! Happy 2018!

It truly is. Thank you! Happy 2018 to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47