SteemitPhotoChallenge #12 Entry - Nawlins Street Corner Blur

in #photography8 years ago

nawlinscornerbwda75e.jpg

My second entry for the city theme photo challenge, this is a corner in New Orleans I loved that street lamp and the drugstore with the lights. You can see the trollie tracks more clearly in the color version though. I just had a flashback to how those things actually hurt my feet walking over them during the day and started laughing, the things you forget about then suddenly remember again.
nawlinscornerf373b.md.jpg

Now here's the third and final entry, Rooftops Ready To Go.
nawlinsbuildingsbwab358.jpg
Believe this was from the parking lot. The different colours on the buildings really called out to me to stop and get a better view.
nawlinsbuildings7884a.jpg
First entry can be found in this post. That one was taken with my husbands iphone.

These ones were taken with my old point and shoot. I haven't found it to unpack in order to share the exact model and specifics though. It's a Canon Power Shot made in 2005 or so. Sad and ancient, I know.
And it's ALWAYS had this known issue with it since it was brand new, not detecting even brand new batteries and lithium ones, ugh! I'm actually slapping these links up here as a note for myself, so I can go back to it once I find the camera in question, and maybe we can try the toothpick fix that they mention here.

I read on a web site where a person solved this problem by repairing the contact in the bottom of the compartment where the battery goes in + end down. They used a slender dental pick with a crooked tip, reached under the contact, and gently bent it upward. That raised the battery up about a millimeter or so, making the tops of the two batteries even, and it then made proper contact. Apparently the springiness of the metal at the bottom of that chamber diminishes over time, and the battery descends into the compartment until it no longer makes good contact on the negative end. Sounds like the most elegant and permanent fix, if you can get a hold of a tool of that shape and delicacy.
- But other than that issue being so frustrating, I would have totally loved it and still find it worthwhile sometimes, as long as I take enough backup batteries and juggling them out with many prayers. It's just great for taking action shots, getting a clear shot while still moving is so handy and none of the phones I've had can battle the blur like this one. It spoiled me on that, but hopefully someday I'll grow up and get a real camera again. Haha!

Now for two "extra" ones I didn't choose for the challenge, but still think they belong along together.
nawlinsgasfdbf5.md.jpg
Cute little old fashioned gas station, and some graffiti for your salad. Bon Appetit!
nawlinsgraf24e7e0.md.jpg
lunnettikeb8df.jpg
Thanks for reading! Logo gifted by Papa Pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52