Guiling - finding the center and starting a new journey

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Quiling-27.jpg

This photobook is about the first three months of my life in US.

I'd never been to US prior to my MFA study. At the beginning, there was some gap between what I grasped from the American TV shows and movies and what I experienced myself once I was in US.

Naturally, photographing my everyday life became a way to explore, examine and digest the new environment and culture.

I had a camera with me all the time. It created a safe enough distance between me and the outside to observe and to document. On the contrary, it slowed me down to connect and absorb the surroundings. While I was sorting the pictures I took, the moment frozen in the images pulled me even closer to the experience I had and intensified my feelings toward those moments.

Quiling-0.jpg

Quiling-1.jpg

Quiling-2.jpg

Quiling-3.jpg

Quiling-4.jpg

Quiling-5.jpg

Quiling-6.jpg

Quiling-7.jpg

Quiling-8.jpg

Quiling-9.jpg

Quiling-10.jpg

Quiling-11.jpg

Quiling-12.jpg

Quiling-13.jpg

Quiling-14.jpg

Quiling-15.jpg

Quiling-16.jpg

Quiling-17.jpg

Quiling-18.jpg

Quiling-19.jpg

Quiling-20.jpg

Quiling-21.jpg

Quiling-22.jpg

Quiling-23.jpg

Quiling-24.jpg

Quiling-25.jpg

Quiling-26.jpg

Quiling-27.jpg

Above are the selected images and spreads in the photobook. Feel free to visit the complete series on my website via this link. http://www.lulumeng.art/photos/queiling.html

“Guiling” is the title of the photobook. Literally, it means to zero a scale in Mandarin. It also implies that going back to where one started, finding the center and getting ready to start a new journey. In this sense, the photobook, Guiling, is the first chapter of my artistic journey.

This is my third post on Steemit. I’ve decided to blog about me and my life through the development of my artworks.
I will write about my projects chronologically in the following posts. In case you would like to know more about my work. Please visit my website!
http://www.lulumeng.art/

Sort:  

Impressive art work @lulumeng

Congratulations @lulumeng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What an interesting sequence of images. I'm partial to the milk, eggs and meat for some odd reason. Probably one of the themes here is the sheer abundance of the West?

I would say I was perplexed and overwhelmed by the great quantity of many things in US.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57