M I L K Y - W A Y S H O O T ! 🌌

in #photography7 years ago

This was a super spontaneous late-night trip!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I received a call from my friend Alex the other night asking if I wanted to join her and her friend Saori to head out of Brisbane for a late-night drive out to see the milky-way. It was already almost midnight and the drive takes 1.5 hours out of Brisbane to lake Moogerah, but anything to be able to peep these stars.

This was our view:

Saori who's from Japan visiting Australia had never actually seen stars like this before, so it was really cool to be able to show her a sight like this. I almost didn't bring along my camera, but it's just way too beautiful and I wanted to capture it and share it with y'all here.

See those fuzzy patches in the sky in the photo below? They're actually other near-by galaxies that you can even see with your naked eye. So insane to consider that we're just sitting on this tiny rock floating through this enormous galaxies, chilling next to other galaxies just next to us.

The photo below was probably my favourite out of the series of 3 just here. I love when the milky-way lines up beautifully with the foreground in a photo like it did here, and capturing as much of the night-sky as possible in portrait... I don't know man, it just does things for me. It's so refreshing to get out of the city and get back to nature like this, especially relaxing under the stars like this.

These photos were not only fun to take / edit, but it was also really awesome to be able to actually upload these to my Instagram since it was actually the first photos I've posted in over a year!

I've been holding onto a bunch of content for so long for no real reason other than being crippled by perfectionism, but this year I'm consciously trying to work my way around it. What better way than to share a bunch of milky-way photos here with you guys?

If you guys happen to jump over to IG and give me a follow, I'd really appreciate it. If you do, be sure to send me a DM! Here's my Instagram feed here:

Thanks for stopping by - more content coming soon!

Peace,
Luke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62164.65
ETH 2439.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67