LSCOTTPHOTOS Photography: A Superpower (AKA the sentimental ramblings of an amateur photographer)

in #photography8 years ago

Stop for a moment.
Put aside your previous perceptions of photography. Whether you are a professional caressing a thousand dollar camera, an amateur clutching a simple point and shoot, or an everyday "average" individual with a cellphone, stop and think for a moment about the power of taking pictures.

Who are you? A mother, a father, a sister, a brother? An artist, an athlete, a student, a teacher?
That no longer matters. As soon as you pick up a camera...

You stop time. You freeze the world and observe the infinite moments between seconds.
With a click of a button, you capture the joy of a child's laughter. With a snap of a shutter, you pause tears on their dramatic descent. With barely the flick of a finger... you preserve memories, both good and bad, and etch them permanently into the flow of time.

You're not just a photographer... you're a superhero.

Where you direct your gaze, others will look. You find something in nothing and give it a form.
You see the world -the true and beautiful and horrible world- and show it to others in its simplest form.
You make a statement without needing words.
You influence thought and opinion without saying a thing.
You evoke emotions from stillness.
You give life to creativity and personify imagination.
You remain invisible behind your camera while reaching out to touch countless lives.

You're not just a photographer... you're a superhero.

And I for one think that's pretty damn cool!

Thank you for reading my random ramblings! I am feeling especially sentimental of my craft and needed to show my appreciation of the inspiration somehow.

What do you think? Comment below and don't forget to upvote!
Constructive criticism welcome as always!

Image from Pexels and used under the CC0 license.

Lscottphotos
P.S. This is my first post using my new bluetooth keyboard for my iPad! It's extremely useful and will allow me to work more productively! Purchased using SBD :) Thanks for the continued support!

Sort:  

Hehe, most of the time I try to show the beauty around me through my photography :)

Many people do and that's awesome! I also like showing the dirty and gritty side of life though in order to increase awareness! :) that's the beauty of a subjective art form!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43