LSCOTTPHOTOS “Letting Nature Take its Course” – Discussing Photographers’ Opinions

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

When exploring the world of photography there are a lot of unspoken rules to follow, especially in regards to nature and wildlife. A fundamental rule that most people follow is...

"Let nature take its course"

It's very Lion King/ Circle of Life.

We do not want the antelope to be eaten but we do not want to see lion cubs starve either. We are documenters above all else – we capture what real life looks like, no matter how “sad” or uncomfortable it is to see.    

I am interested in discussing what people think of this rule because I entertain the rather unpopular opinion that it is arrogant to say we should not interfere (in some cases). Please let me explain before you judge – I am terribly poor at explaining my thought processes but I’ll try my best.  

I agree with letting nature take it course. Many of you probably heard of the bison calf in Yellowstone National Park. The story still makes my blood boil. Two tourists removed the baby animal from the wild and loaded it into their car because they feared for its health. They were afraid that, being separated from the herd, it would die without interference. But the calf eventually had to be euthanized after it was unable to rejoin its herd due to human interference. Their best intentions turned horribly wrong.   

In this case, nature truly must take its course. Photographers and observers must harden their hearts and walk away because that is simply a part of life!   

But when does humanity become a part of nature? I feel it is ironic for us to say we shouldn’t interfere with nature when humanity has the biggest (and most negative) impact on nature in the first place.   

For example, take this famous photo by Kevin Carter. I'm sure you've seen it before. 

Interference here is a given for me. 

Now I KNOW these are two completely different situations and deserve completely different actions. But that’s what I’m interested in – what is the tipping point? What situations call for action?   

Please understand I’m talking about little things here. I’m not gonna go stop predators from eating prey. That’s life!    

But what about the little bird that fell from his nest a few weeks ago in my back yard? I watched him from a distance and refused to touch him, hoping his parents would flutter around and feed him. But they didn’t and he quickly grew weak. By the time I donned a pair of gloves to try to feed him a worm it was too late.   

Now I wish I had helped that baby bird. That brings me to my main point and question of this post…   

In what instance(s) would you observe and document life as a photographer and in what instance(s) would you take an active part? Where would you step in?   

I gave my honest opinion. I’m looking for an open discussion of opinions, not cruel remarks.  

Thanks for listening to my opinion! I'm interested to hear yours! 


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33