Moalboal Adventure: When the Tide is Low

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I have known that underwater life is quite interesting but I never thought of seeing them with my own two eyes. It's during low tide that I decided to grab my camera and take a walk at the shore.
lowtide.JPG

This is located in Moalboal, Cebu where my friend's apartment is located. When the tide is high, the water here is around 2 meters deep, and you can go snorkle.

lowtidemoalboal.JPG

During my hunt, I found quite a number of starfish but most of them, according to my followed online research, are Protoreaster nodosus or Rhinoceros starfish because of the pointy spikes that resembles the horn of a rhinoceros.
starfish.JPG
Called Chocolate Chip starfish to some because the spikes may also look like chocolate chips. The body of this species is designed as such so it can frighten any dangerous predators.
starfish pink.JPG

starfishes.JPG

For some reason, I can't find details about this particular star fish.
star.JPG
There's nine-armed starfish and eleven-armed one but I kept counting on the above tentacles but this one is in between. It's a ten-armed starfish I supposed but nothing I found that resembles this one. In case you knew, please do tell me in the comment section.

The next one is called Blue sea star orLinckia laevigata
bluestarfish.JPG
According to my research this starfish is normally found in the Pacific Oceans and in shallow and sunny parts of the reefs and reef fringes. This type of starfish is a scavenger one and acts as the clean up crew by feeding on dead animals.

Next I found are sea-urchins. You surely don't want to mess with this little spicky creatures. One single simple misstep would surely make you shout in pain.
seaurchin.JPG

I even found some weird worms I at first thought was water snakes and got me scared that it might bite me off.
seaworm.JPG

Also, these plants or corals look differently when the tide is high.
corals.JPG

corals2.JPG

seaweeds.JPG

coralsmoalboal.JPG

moalboal.JPG
It was truly an awesome experience that I forgot about the time. I was the only one in the area and before I knew it the night is fast approaching that I have to go back to my friend's home.

Some pictures are a bit blurry or clouded because the subjects are submerge in the water when it was taken.

That's all for now! More coming... Thank you for taking the time to read my post. Let's keep steemin'!

Sort:  

The water is clear tho! I hope you didn’t step on anything when you were exploring. 😅

I'm wearing an armor! :D The seashores in Moalboal were amazing though... clear and clean.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.07% vote... I was summoned by @lrastriker! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64