First Time in Athens - a Very Personal Photo-ReportagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Hey there! I haven't been posting my recipes for a while, because I was busy enjoying glorious Greek food :) Pure Mediterranean!

This was my first time to visit Athens, and I've completely fell in love. Athens is a big city, some 6 million people call it home - it has the sea, the mountains, a great city-life, great weather, and of course, it is the cradle of Western democracy. City center is located around ancient Acropolis. We visited Acropolis, but the workers were on strike that day, unfortunately. We took it as a sign that we must come back to Athens!

Well, despite city's landmarks and history (that very much vibrates), you either love the city or don't. Something about Athens put a spell on me, and I was mad about every street corner. Here in my reportage you will not see the famous Parthenon, but city corners, walls and nooks that tell my own story of love for Athens.


View from Acropolis hill. Just a small part of Athens landscape


Syntagma Square - the main city point, all the buses, metros and trams come and go from here.


Bright Athens morning in February.


The viiibe. I already miss it.


Cozy coffee spot.


Great attention is paid to plants and trees, the city is full of beautiful vegetation.


Corner in Plaka district, home of great fun and food.


Beautiful gardens.


Wake up and visit Athens!

I hope these images can show you a glimpse of the magic of Athens, far from history and landmarks, through a very personal view of someone who fell madly in love with this ancient city.

Sort:  

I miss so much live in Greece :(

I'm considering moving there, it was so beautiful!

I spend 5 years in Thessaloniki but is many beautiful places :)

This cool photo of my friend. I salute you

Looks like (and sounds like) an awesome place to visit! I've not been to the Greek main land yet. I visited one of the islands once, which was also quite nice. Warm weather, beautiful nature and friendly people :-)

I imagine the islands are beautiful :) I liked that such a big and vibrant city has a Mediterranean vibe, and you're right, the people were very friendly :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95