The Gothic Within - The Body Worlds In Amsterdam (NSFW)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

"The passion of lovers is for death, said she."


I have recently borrowed Nikon D3400 camera so I could learn some photography. During my recent visit to Amsterdam I decided to practice the skills a bit and play with different camera settings.
I have got a lot of sentiment for the beauty of gothic, Victorian, post-apocalyptic, macabre or ghoulish art, so I decided to visit Body Worlds exhibition by German anatomist Gunther von Hagens.
The photographs are in monochrome, because I really enjoy this style. I hope that you enjoy them.



Nikon D3400




Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400



Nikon D3400




Bauhaus is an English gothic rock band that became very popular within 80's post-punk scene. It is conisdered to be one of the pioneering bands of gothic rock.

The Passion of Lovers by Bauhaus.


-logic

Sort:  

Saw nin a couple years ago and Peter Murphy from Bauhaus performed a couple of songs with him. It was pretty amazing. I used to hang out at gothic/industrial clubs in the 90s.

I hang out in gothic/industial clubs all the time :-)
I saw NIN about 9 yeas ago.

Reznor puts on a really amazing show. Great use of video screens.

Great pics, quote and choice of music. Eery is the relationship between love, sex and death and hate. Those bodies stripped to more naked than naked captures that well. The pose and enjoy music, embrace, all our beyond-animal characteristics, but in the vessel of our ephemeral meat suits.

Thank you. Very nicely said :-)

This exhibition was in Singapore several years ago. I saw some pics before and my wife said it looks scary and creepy. So, I didn't get to go even though I thought it would have been a bit educational.

I found most if this exhibition both creepy and beautiful :-)

quite cool. wanted to get to this too but didn't have time! i keep saying I'll do it. it was the happiness themed or smth this year or something similar?

I'm not sure what the theme was but we can try to guess from the positions :-)

Fascinating. Beautiful. Disturbing.
The first photo with the close-up of the face and sinewy neck is amazing! Seeing things like this make me feel really inspired to better learn the functions of my camera. Thank you for sharing your journey through Body Worlds.

Thank you! You opinion is very valuable to me :-)

Very artfully done. BTW the best Bauhaus song is "Bella Lugosi's Dead" - a total classic. I only discovered them about 5 years ago but they are amazing.

Thank you :-)
"Bella Lugosi's Dead" is awesome but didn't fit with this post :-)

Maybe be you could have pretended that one of the displays was Bella Lugosi himself!

I was first disturbed by the pictures, but after a while I found some beautiful aspects in them. Interesting!

It had the similar effect on me for the first time.

Might want to NSFW tag this dude.. lol

Good point :-) Done

Yeah, Nudity doesn't offend me at all but I know plenty around here that get a bit perturbed when the titties are out. :P

Yeah, these pseudo-prude little hitlers. Pff

I have seen one of these exhibitions many years ago. Your use of black and white photography gives me a fresh take on it. Thank you.

Thank you Ophelia :-)

wow...awesome pics! (;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62601.44
ETH 3376.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49