Blur

in #photography6 years ago

one.jpg

I'm drawn to and repulsed by the High Street in Guildford at the weekend. It seems to me to be filled with people desperate for something meaningful, trying to find it by wandering around down town. There's this blank, empty gaze flitting from shop to shop. It can't be captured by sticking a camera in their faces. So how do you get towards communicating it.

Today I had the idea to try shooting with very slow shutter speeds to see whether blurring the motion helped at all. I think it has. It doesn't quite get at what I'm after, but I think they're still interesting.

two.jpg

The issue that I hadn't considered was that even a shortish long exposure ( 1/4 sec) makes fairly over-exposed images with the aperture right down and ISO 100 (the lowest available on my camera), so perhaps I need to try under other conditions than a bright August afternoon.

three.jpg

Sort:  

I really like the effect of the blurred people - like they're ghosts of their true selves wandering about.

What I did notice very distinctly both in Swansea and Cardiff during this past week is the total use of mobile phones. As I live in the countryside reception is unreliable and my mobile is mainly used for taking photos. Seeing people of all ages 'glued' to their little devices like that made me slightly sad. Having said that everyone we spoke to was really friendly - so there's always hope :D
Your photos are very interesting by the way, @lloyddavis. I especially like the colours of the last photo. What was that yellow from I wonder, a carrier bag?

Ah yes, mobiles are a big part of it too. I'll think more about how to represent that.

I think that yellow is the orange of a Sainsbury's carrier bag but I've not carried out a comprehensive survey of the bags handed out in our High Street :)

Wow amazing blur good post thanks to share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30