My Love For Moss

in #photography5 years ago


I have always loved moss.. deep in my soul kind of love. It’s not that unusual really, many people love moss afterall. But recently I made a discovery that may explain this love.. a reason I didn’t even remember.

Last week I took my munchkin on a hike in the mountains around where I grew up. After we conquered a nearby summit, I decided to take her to a place I use play when I was a child. I had told her of the spot often and figured since we were on an adventure, why not take a trip back in time.

You see, I really did grow up in the mountains.. in every sense of the phrase.



As kids we would eat breakfast, do our chores and then head up into the hills for the day. We played and swam in a small waterfall and just hiked all over.. letting our imaginations take us to new places each and every day.

We had this home base though.. I think we called it our fort, but it’s where we hung out when we weren’t roaming elsewhere. It’s also where I use to sit and read for hours.

It took me awhile to find it actually.. it’s been a few years after all 😬.. but when I did I immediately laughed.. because I didn’t remember that every square inch of the place was covered with moss.

Looking back, it makes sense.. I mean I laid on the beds of moss while I read. It was the perfect place for a bunch of kids to rest after playing our hearts out.

Anyways, it was lovely going back and visiting a place that I spent so much of my childhood at and,

it felt like discovering the source of my love for moss...



And I wanted to share that with you.. here are some of my favorites, hope you enjoy ❤️




CD771065-B787-4BB8-8CFE-F80878BD6A93.jpeg




C0374983-748C-480E-A89A-949A33D504E4.jpeg




948680DD-9ED9-4301-89FD-CAAF6C40CE2E.jpeg




81EF3F2B-75B4-42E7-BCFF-F68E72D863C1.jpeg




571A0009-6ADA-4625-87FE-00AB08AF089C.jpeg




D326D57D-F4BC-409A-8161-235ED4BB9238.jpeg




C72A3044-692A-4B8F-8F9D-A46FAC47EC5D.jpeg




So maybe my soulful love of moss started when I was just a barefoot kid roaming the hills.. and that love has just stuck with me all these years. Or, maybe moss is just too magical not to love.. either way.. moss will always be special to me for one reason or another.

Nature just has that affect on me...


Much Love,

Justine

All photos taken by me with my Fuji x-t2

Sort:  

Oh yeah, moss is great. Always warm and soft. Almost everything in nature looks better when covered in moss. It says "this place is ancient, yet full of life". Lichen, moss, clubmoss, fungi and ferns have something primal in them, first animals that walked the Earth were greated by them. Here, have some more of these beauties:

51eaphzbyz.jpg

c9vn5wysfl.jpg

vvx9v2cidl.jpg

1igsd9mo58.jpg

gajcocnhnl.jpg

qw4vza4t6d.jpg

p7zjihyrqx.jpg
Terraces of bracket fungus filled with moss, isn't that great?

Ohhh couldn’t agree more and lovely shots! I think the third one is my favorite with those lovely little mushrooms ☺️

One of the few memories the Lyme has left me is of a little mossy place in the woods behind our house. I have always loved moss, the greens are just so delicious!

All the different shades of green are just so pleasant.. each so unique and full of life. ❤️

I love moss too. When we were kids we used to play on the beach whilst dad was surfing full stop at this one spot there was a creek that lead down to the beach. If you followed the creek inland it would take you through a tiny little Forest that was full of moss that was really super think on the ground. We used to call it our moss bed Forest. It is a really nice memory from childhood xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Awe I love that!! Seriously, it makes the perfect bed haha! Gosh I love memories like that.. sounds like your childhood was full of them as well 🤗

I also had a thing for moss back in the day, specifically Kate Moss

Posted using Partiko iOS

This actually made me laugh out loud, well done

Looks completely peaceful and serene. The type of place you can escape to while soaking in all the beauty in the world. Thx for sharing.

Awe exactly.. how can you have a stress in the world while you are laying on a bed of moss? Thanks for the comment 🤗

Holy hell, that’s it!!! I just need to lie down a bed of Moss all over my actual bed. Bye bye stress!!!! You are a genius!!!

Ummm duh! Why do you think I want to go live in a hobbit hole in the Woods?!! Moss bed = the life

Looks like a pretty great place to grow up in ;) I love moss too! There's something wonderfully mysterious about it, isn't there?

Thank you! Yes, there is something so lovely and mysterious about it.. it also is this pop of life even in the coldest of months .. love it ❤️

I'm going to show this to my daughter in a week or so's time, she loves the moss!

Love that, hope she enjoys ❤️

wow, that sounds like a perfect magical childhood!💖

Yes, I look back and can’t believe how unbelievably lucky I was ❤️

Moss is magical ! I am starting to appreciate them also ! My friend is starting a terrarium creation business and she uses moss a lot in her creations...

Your photos are always so beautiful and I love how you frame your shots, lele <3 Gorgeous * ___ *

Ohh love those.. they are like little mini forests you can bring inside 😍

Awe thank you spider.. your comments are always so kind and I really appreciate them ❤️

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.612 which ranks you at #493 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37