What I´ve learned As A Makeup Artist - Photoshooting On Hamburgs Roof Top

in #photography7 years ago

It may seem like all you need to become a working artist is a well stocked kit and some makeup know-how, but that assumption can be the first step to failure. There is no need to have everything first to get started!

When I started putting make-up on a few years ago, I remember using only bb cream, eye liner and lipstick. I´ve always been watching make-up tutorials on youtube and tried to copy the beautiful looks. With time and a lot of practice you get better and I can finally say that I feel confident in what I´m doing. Practice makes perfect, right?


Here are my few tips to start a career as a Make-Up Artist

Start with Retail

There’s never a dull day when you work as a freelancer because you never know who’s going to end up in your makeup chair! I used to work as a freelancer for a successful makeup company and I´ve met people from all walks of life and it was my responsibility to make them feel comfortable interacting with me. I suggest starting in retail, the shop floor is where you learn those valuable people skills, selling skills and you get to practice your makeup and application skills.

Stay Informed

A great makeup artist always knows what will happen next. Not only do you need to be all over what’s happening in the industry, but you need to know the trends and be the trendsetter. The clients will be more inclined to talk positively about you. I recommend you to an hour to browse your favorite websites, blogs and magazines for the most recent beauty news. What I personally would love to do is to explore makeup trends in other countries like Japan or Korea.

Promote yourself

As a makeup artist, you are your own brand. You can start with an online portfolio and make sure to add and change images as your skills evolve. Embrace social media, because it is a huge part in helping you to build your business.

We had a nice weather last weekend here in Hamburg and decided to do a photo shooting under the open sky. We decided to have it on the roof top of a high-rise building. It gave us access to an absolute stunning view to Hamburgs harbour. It is Germany´s largest harbour and named the country´s „Gateway to the world.“ I was overwhelmed by the view, because you do not always get the opportunity to shoot at a place like this.

We started the day with a breakfast- Fruit yoghurt and a lot of bagels.

DSC02606.jpg

The mess haven´t started yet...

DSC02623.jpg

Here our model for the shoot- I only enhanced her physical features and created a flawless appearance. We kept hair and makeup pretty natural.

DSC02651.jpg

That was our beautiful view!

DSC02739.jpg

DSC02760.jpg

DSC02746.jpg

IMG_1787.JPG

Watch our short video down below :)

I hope you enjoyed my post. Wishing you all a lovely day ahead!

Lisa

Sort:  

Nice pictures and video, and the location on the rooftops is awesome too, especially with the harbor in the background.

I'm sure you all had a great time at the shoot it looks fun!

Thank you @sirwinchester The view was stunning! Yes, we had a lot of fun

Sehr schön Lisa, man sieht das du viel Freude an der Arbeit hast und mir gefällt der natürliche look.

Dankeschön!!

Kann mich @tarekadam nur anschliessen - wusste gar nicht, dass Du deutsch verstehst :-) @lisadang

Great article, very interesting. I'll watch the video. I love photography, have a great day

Thank you :)

Seeing a potential successful woman right here !!!

:)))

Looks beautiful! You are so talented and I can not wait to see more of your work!

Thank you beautyy

Excellent article, I'm not really into fashion, but I liked it!

hahahha you don´t need to, but thanks :P

This is a great start for someone like me who inspires to do makeup/art. Thanks for sharing the tips, I would've never known where to start

Nice photos keep up the good work

Thank you :)

Hi @lisadang i followed you.. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82