Hen's First Egg: Bringing New Respect to the Things We Eat

in #photography7 years ago

Now I've talked a bit recently about how humbled I've been as far as eggs are concerned.  For about a week or so we stopped getting eggs from our chickens, which we had at least one layer at the time.  It may have been due to a few different factors but we were getting a bit confused.  Then yesterday John came inside with these two eggs.

This is quite possibly a chicken's first egg.  It's actually very likely considering there was another blood-free egg that honestly looks like it came from another chicken.  Egg laying is not an easy process.  For a chicken, it's like giving birth every morning.  Hens get used to it, but the first few eggs are the hardest, as you can see here.

I'll admit, I've been one to waste food in the past.  I was known for cooking myself an egg with breakfast and not even touching it, but this is before we had our own birds.  Since they've started laying I've only eaten their eggs, save for a store bought egg in a baked good. 

So next time you go to a store and see all those eggs in those cartons, remember that a bird with much worse living conditions than mine had to go through a lot of pain and discomfort to make each one of those happen.  It brings a whole level of respect to the food we eat and reminds us that there's a lot involved.  

To the chickens that laid these eggs, thanks guys! Your efforts will not go wasted!


Thanks for following and supporting, until next time!

Sort:  

I cringe every morning when I hear my hens laying, I know it hurts them and I am so grateful for their little gifts. I always say thank you after gathering the days eggs.

Wow, this makes one truly humble. I have a newfound respect for chickens. Even though it's a natural process, I feel bad for this little chicky. Another reason we should truly be thankful for every bite we put into our mouths.

chickens are amazing! they play many important roles on the farm.

Your post really hit home, good stuff.

Eggs are a wonderful food...and if we choose not to eat one...It becomes an even better food....CHICKEN!

Wow, I usually gather my eggs when I'm staying at my grandparents and have never seen the blood - I am guessing that as time progresses laying eggs gets a bit easier for the poor hens.

Oh it definately does, but the first one is always brutal from what I can tell.

This looks fantastic!

Humans need SO MUCH more respect for the food they eat and the nature that provides it ALL.
I hope this does a little something to move people. I found the photos to be quite powerful~*~

I personally believe that a huge part of why so much food is wasted is because people are not responsible for the production of it.

Yea and don't know where it comes from and the cultures that waste food have to much money and material goods to respect it.
You would never find a starving african child waste food even if they were not part of the production of it.....

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67