Ducks, Chicks and Bunnies, Oh My: Acquiring Our New Farm Animals

in #photography7 years ago

We got some new friends yesterday, 17 of them to be exact.  We started with 11 chicks, but most didn't look healthy and all but one have died.  The one that's left seems to be a rooster.  We also got 4 ducks, all very healthy and two bunnies, one male and one female.  

A bird that talks that captured my heart.

The chickens before we purchased them. Ten pesos each

Ducks!

Creepy albino bunnies!

My future duck friends!

I went for gray bunnies, we are raising these for meat but we're also breeding them first.

I got these, for 50 pesos each. One boy and one girl who I call Coheed and Cambria.

I want this bird, but its' a frivolous 125 peso splurge.

Our 11 chickens before most of them died.  We've got one left and he seems lonely, so he's hanging with the ducks.

It was a great experience, despite the losses. Our ducks and bunnies are healthy, and I love all of them, especially the ducks.  I've said several times today that I need more ducks, and I'm dead serious. 

Thanks for looking, until next time!

Sort:  

Good to know about your ducks and bunnies are healthy (even you have lost some of them). Nice ! :)

It's the chickens I've lost, but we expected that! The bunnies and ducks have looked great from the store :) Thank you!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

After they've lived a good life, yeah. I prefer to keep the animals I'm raising from suffering, while using them to their fullest. It's better than letting em rot in the ground :D

Is the punchline "a lady never tells"?

Being self-sufficient in meat is the way to go!

That's the idea, we'll see how it goes!

Really good bet on bunnies. Put in solid cages for all small critters and then netting exterior. Farm boy when I grew up. Elevate hiding/ sleeping quarters and have a good floor. Bunnies are great save bunny poop it rocks for fertilizer.

Train the dogs to guard the livestock. Hackamore is the dog training knot. Learn everything about training dogs and work with them every day. They will learn if your consistent. You got internet so download everything dog training. Get doggie! Will post a pic of my puppy.

So far the dogs are confused with the animals, but I eventually intend to train at least rebel to take care of them. We're building a bunny house today. For now we've got an enclosure that'll hold the ducks!

Start training as soon as possible. You will have way better results than changing things. Start small. And keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48