Ducking Dying: Tropical Storms Call For Life Saving Cuddles

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I don't know if this one's obvious or not, but baby ducks just have a really hard time on mountainsides during tropical storms.  Then they pile together and smother eachother to death.  We lose a duck or so every major storm and we end up having to heat at least a few others back to life.  Well one morning the power was out, and we had to do what we could with sunshine and cuddles. Literally.

This is a duck that sat shivering, twitching and cold in my hands for more than an hour before it really seemed like it might make it.  I even resorted to tucking it in the bottoms of my pajama pants for warmth, which actually seemed to do the trick.  People can say what they want about factory farming (it sucks, there's definately a better way) but it comes to raising animals in general the right way, there's a whole lot of compassion that most people just don't consider.  How many people are willing to spend hours first thing in the morning cuddling a duck that could at any second die or poop on them?

This is the duck as it started to look better. 

It prompty pooped after I set it down, sparing me the mess.

This is a different duck, a white one that needed some love.

We got lucky that powerless morning, no ducks were lost that particular morning. 

Thanks for following and supporting, until next time!

Sort:  

Poor duck. I never thought I would see duck poop on the internet. Hey I hope the duck did not mind exposing it to the world. LOL I still say poor duck. - Troy

Poor duck - great job saving it. It's now one happy duck:

By the way, we have a wildlife channel on our website that you might be interested in:
https://www.adaptnetwork.com/category/environment/wildlife/

Cutie pies! I spent my morning cuddling a chicken that was attacked by a raccoon early this morning. My little fighter is ok and even played an egg for us :)

You know what I'm talking about then.

SAVE THE DUCK!

Best,
Fefein

Duck love. Nice humanitarian story. Very compassionate caring for these ducks. Without TLC, these ducks would have been in big trouble. Good job.

Poor duck. I am so glad you could save it.

you are so friendly

Poor thing! I'm glad they all made it through the day.

I hope that duck waddled its way into your heart and has a long life to look forward to now. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34