Curiosity about scarlet poppy fields

Since I was a child I always liked to see a scarlet poppy field, and they're are pretty common where I live, it worth tons of photos!!

IMG_0264.JPG

Today I learned...

The poppy (Papaver rhoeas) has a long association with Remembrance Day because it's one of the first wildflowers to colonise disturbed earth ground. It became associated with the battle zones of the First World War, or Flanders Fields, wich land was transformed into fields of blood red poppies, growing around the bodies of the fallen soldiers.

The significance of the poppy as a symbol of remembrance of past sacrifices was realised by the Canadian physician Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae in his 'In Flander’s Fields' poem. It was supposedly written after presiding over the funeral of a friend and fellow soldier Lieutenant Alexis Helmer, who died on the 2 May, 1915, during the Second Battle of Ypres. It was written in memory of his friend, representing the immeasurable sacrifice made by his comrades. Quickly, scarlet poppies became a lasting memorial to those who died in World War One and later conflicts.


DSC_6537.JPG

You can see other curiosities about poppies here - 14 fascinating facts about poppies


source


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

My great grandfather was one of the lucky men to come home from WWI. My grandmother was born in 1921 - 3 years after he came home :)

Nice!! I don't have anyone in my family that went to the war (fortunately) :)

I had. Not a direct relative but almost. He died some years ago.

She died just a few years ago aged 94. She was from good strong stock! :)

Beautiful <3 <3 <3 I also like the poem. Thank you for sharing :) I follow you :)

Thank you so much!! I found poppies beautiful, today I searched a bit and found this curiosity, just that! Following back. I like the fact you're an artistic woman!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Me too, a lot!! I like the pop sound it makes too, I used to do that a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65