Post-trip photo sharing!

in #photography5 years ago

Since it's not a really common thing for me to go out for trips (my mum's holidays are almost never the same as mine until this time), and I caught quite an amount of photos this time, so why not?

Originally, I planned on making a full-blown series of blog posts for this trip to Yogyakarta, Indonesia, but reality proved that I'm actually really bad at writing travel stories...I mean, they don't look like stories at all. They look like diaries at best, and to be frank they feel really awkward to read, just like the diaries we were forced to write during middle school days. So, I think I'll just turn this into a series of photo sharing posts instead, and slip in some stories whenever I feel appropriate...

Let's do it in a chronological order, something on the plane first...

An in-flight meal that we had, because of time constraints and we don't want to waste time on any airports finding restaurants...so let's take it even though I was told by my mum that it isn't going to be tasty, lol. It's Yangzhou fried rice, but I don't remember having any Yangzhou fried rice in any other places so there's no comparison to be done. Although if you ask me, I would prefer it to be slightly less salty, haha.

But let's just not complain that much for something that works pretty well for filling our stomachs :)

It isn't a very long trip from Penang to Yogyakarta (it's a 2.5 hours from Penang to Jakarta, and another 1 hour from Jakarta to Yogyakarta), but plane flights...I never liked them so it still felt like eternity to me, lol. But upon landing at the destination airport I'm pleasantly surprised.

It's the first time I'm standing at the "road" of the planes.

The airport is very tiny compared to the one in Jakarta, and might be even smaller compared to the one in Penang (I'm not very sure about this, but in terms of total walk-able area, the Penang International Airport might still be bigger due to multiple floors). You have to walk down to the ground from the plane upon arrival, and when departing you also need to walk straight to the plane on the ground and use the stairs. It's a pretty fresh experience for me so first time surprises!

The arrival "gate"...?

An Indonesian friend of mine told me that traditional building aesthetics are commonly applied to other things, and I think this airport is one of them :) You don't normally see designs like this everywhere!

I didn't capture images of the roofs of the airport buildings, but they are really similar to the traditional buildings we see throughout the next few days of the trip. To be honest, it looks kinda...cute. Who says that airports must be modern and cooled with air conditioner everywhere?

View of one of the walkways in the airport, and to be very honest, it looks very similar to some highway rest stations in Malaysia, but bigger and more polished :D In some big enough rest stations, we also have restaurants like that at the sides of the walkway, and also benches, vending machines, etc...it feels like a bigger version of it but for planes!

The airport's parking lot in which we waited for our driver to bring us to our first destination and yes I thought it has a toll entrance like some highway rest stations here...

This marks the first half day of the trip there, where's our first destination? Wait for the next post :) oh, also, this will be a pretty long series, because of course I'm not dumping around 100 photos in one post. Promising content for the next whole month! XD

See you soon!

--Lilacse


Creative Commons Licence
This work above (anything below is not included) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

PHC-footer.png

Sort:  

It sounds like the start of an exciting adventure! 😃

I guess you got it right..? :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12