Lemon Harvest and Walking Stick Photos

in #photography6 years ago

You might remember that my first Pacific Northwest grown lemon harvest had not exactly a stellar outcome and resulted in one rudimentary dime sized lemon. This time I carefully coddled the lemon tree, protecting it from the chilly winter by keeping it inside in my office and giving it plenty of outdoor sunlight when the weather permitted.

It resulted in one excellent lemon. Very tasty and not too tart with some subtle fragrances and flavors that you don’t find in most store bought lemons.

lemon.jpg
The Pacific Northwest Grown Lemon Harvest of 2018 – click for viewing full screen

I have transplanted the tree into a bigger pot and I hope next season to get a better harvest.

lemonCut.jpg
Cut lemon, nice and juicy – click for viewing full screen

I have both my lemon and lime trees outside right now next to the heather flowers. After watering them this morning I found a stick bug walking along the lime tree branch.

stickBugA.jpg
A stick bug walking A – click for viewing full screen

I thought this was an interesting looking bug.

stickBugB .jpg
A stick bug walking B – click for viewing full screen

Sometimes called a walking stick or other odd names.

stickBugC .jpg
A stick bug walking C – click for viewing full screen

I like the way these bugs blend into the surroundings.

stickBugD .jpg
A stick bug walking D – click for viewing full screen

I’ve read that a lot of other bugs like to eat them so looking like a stick helps protect them.

stickBugDCrop .jpg
A stick bug walking D crop– click for viewing full screen

I doubt the stick bug will harm the lemon or lime trees much so beside taking its picture I left it alone.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+.

Sort:  

@lightsplasher You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguard because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hello Dear friend @lightplasher. How are you. I JUST RESTEEMED YOUR POST.. Really your photography is awesome and very nice clicked. I love your post all time. Thank you for sharing with us. I hope you have a good day.

Thank you, I hope you have a good day too. :)

Lemon has many benefits one of which is to lose weight because lemon contains lots of vitamin c.

Well congrats on the fine looking lemon!

I love how those walking sticks can really blend in with the branches. Weird thing here is that I have not seen many lightning bugs this year.

Have a great weekend. 4am here so it's my bedtime!

Thank you, it was wonderful to eat. I've notice less insects too. I hardly needed to clean the car windshield on my recent trip. Usually I have to clean it every time I gas up. It seem like the last few years there have been less and less insects on the windshield.

Have a nice weekend too. It would be a fine time to see some shooting stars but it seems to be clouding up and is very hazy from the fires or something.

Lemons are a very special fruit, it is said that they dissolve gallbladder stones or maybe help get some from you gallbladder aside from it is a really good to make a juice from or tenderize meats and flavor them as well.
Nice creature a walking stick is, it has a defense mechanism, not to get spotted easily by its predators. @lightsplasher
You should plant more fruiting shrubs and trees :)

I have been thinking of maybe putting a pear tree in or another apple tree. These trees do really well around here. I like peaches and figs too but they don't grow as well.

Yes and maybe berries too so you can have the fruits faster and they pack some antioxidants that is good for longevity.

hi, my friend @lightsplasher how are you?

I like lime. Because it tastes very sour ...

I like both limes and lemons. My lime tree has not produced any limes for a couple years, but it did make a nice lime when I first got it.

Very good smartphone photography brother.
Hi brother im ebuk from Nigeria. I am new on that please visit me. I have uploaded new pictures. See me.

Ur smartphone photography is going better day by day. I am going to be your deep fan day by day. Brother.
Specially the green pictures.... love you . Feel free visit me. I have posted lots of collections

very juicy looking! Well done @lightsplasher.

very tasty and fresh lemons, maybe this time my best friend hasn't gotten lemon too good, and big, maybe my best friend got lemon next year better and the fruit is massive, a little after me lemon it needs Very good care, I really like the lemon thanks my dear friend for sharing

Lemons are pretty tasty, and I hope the tree will get bigger and produce more of them. It is hard to grow a tree that is not native to the area though.

yes my dear friend, hopefully your lemon tree grows fast and can produce massive fruit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77