American Goldfinch Visits the Feeder

in #photography7 years ago

Back in April 15, 2017 I managed to get a few pictures of this American Goldfinch with my Panasonic Lumix FZ35. This was shot through window glass and most of the images are cropped.

I managed to get a few more images of another Goldfinch this morning which I might post too. This is the season to see them brightly colored. In the winter they are dull brown. I used to think they left the area but they are still around.


Goldfinch side view

They are pretty active birds and don’t stand still long for the camera. I really like the bright yellow color they are fun to spot. There are a few different varieties but the American Goldfinch I’ve seen most often.


Goldfinch back looking right

He flew around and landed looking the other direction.


Goldfinch back looking left

Here’s the nice picture of his face that I was wanting to take.


Goldfinch Looking Forward

I enjoy taking pictures of the birds and keep my camera handy next to the window. Most of the birds that I see are sparrows and when I see a goldfinch I get more excited. They are all very fun to watch though.


Thanks for reading and viewing, I hope you enjoyed the pictures.

Sort:  

You must have exceptionally clean windows to be able to capture the detail and colour of this little Goldfinch so well.

Actually my windows need cleaning. It is more a matter of finding a reasonably clean spot and pressing the camera up close to reduce reflections. If I can work the door open a crack without scaring the birds off, I can get a bit better pictures.

Very nice shots! I was wondering what lens you use??

Thank you! The lens is build into the camera and can't be changed. It is a 27 mm wide angle to 486 mm telephoto - 18x optical zoom with optical image stabilization.

It is nice in that it is lighter and the camera body is sealed so dust and stuff getting into the camera is not usually an issue. The price was right as compared to some of the other cameras out there with a separate lens at the time.

Was on a 'photography excursion' recently with a friend of mine, who's a bird photographer. We had been in the bushland all day and on our way home ~ Had just put our cameras away when we saw a yellow breasted wren. Quite rare. Long story short: Was what the day was all about for her. Amazing to watch her in action.

It is really fun to go out to many places around here to take pictures and watch the birds. I'm not that serious of a bird photographer - it is pretty amazing the cameras and equipment that some of these people have. I'm pretty happy with my camera though, it allows me to do a lot of different types of photography.

Beautiful photos!

Nice photo :)

Thanks! Glad you liked them.

Beautiful bird. I love to watch it here in India and capture on my camera too.

I bet you have some very interesting birds. I love to see and hear all the different types of birds when I travel.

Awesome pictures!

I recommend reading Feathered Psychos and Charming Birds. Think it might speak to you :)

Nice information on birds - good post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49