Unusual Photos of Venice, Italy for my Steemit Travel Vlog

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! I have been wanting to post but the internet has been on and off at every place I have stayed; and internet speeds have been like dial up...LOL! I tried using the Esteem App but I uploading one image with a 3G network takes about 15min. Grrrrr! Enough complaining, I'm having an amazing time. Let's dig into some images while I seem to have to some strong enough internet for images...

_MG_9057.jpg

I woke up at 5:30am my first day in Venice so I could see the city without the hordes of tourist walking about. My first glimpse of Saint Marcos Square there were no people, just me. While on a ferry the night before an Italian girl told me, "The best time to see Venice is between midnight and 5am"

_MG_9005.jpg
The night time selfie with a long exposure You can see me in the center of the image, I look like a ghost. I have a shoot in a few days with an Italian actress using this technique. Should be interesting.

_MG_0071.jpg
From inside the Doge. The Doge was an elected, chief-of-state lordship, the ruler of the republic in many of the Italian city-states during the medieval and renaissance periods, in the Italian "crowned republics". Unbelievable beauty!

_MG_0059.jpg
The Doge

_MG_9034.jpg
Every corner there's something different and beautiful. This strange palace right in the middle of a canal struck me as different. I did a long exposure here, tough to do when there is a lot of ambient light (unless you use a ND filter).

_DSC8722.jpg

_DSC8732.jpg
My mom and I went to the Jewish Ghetto one evening for dinner. The architecture in the Ghetto isn't as ornate as the rest of Venice. I pondered over the history and a sense of pain throughout the years ran over me. But people are happy on the streets, drinking, talking and enjoying being social. In my mind there's a contrast of the modern era and history of a place.

_MG_0015.jpg
It had rained the night before and because I'm a photographer I notice details. Reflections of the buildings high above. Your eye doesn't tend to look up, you look down. I see what you don't normally see...

_DSC8794.jpg
A model from Italy contacted me on Instagram and we had fun shooting the streets of Venice one evening.

_DSC8790.jpg
So many beautiful girls walking around. Not much to say here. Hahaha.

_DSC8685.jpg
The Rialto Bridge should be re-named to the Instagram Bridge , I have never seen so many people with their damn selfie sticks in one spot. I kid you not, there are about 100 selfie images a second taken throughout the day. After 9pm the place is a ghost town, the best time to go in my opinion.

_DSC8680.jpg
I somehow managed a shot without the mob (Rialto Bridge). I believe this was the first bridge in Venice.

_DSC8779.jpg
On my way to the apartment my last evening in Venice I managed to grab a long exposure as a boat whizzed by around 1am.

Sort:  

Original view of Venice, @lightenup, like it very much. Upvoted.

Gorgeous photos @lightenup, gotta love that early morning light!

Getting up early is painful for me...but worth it when I see the results later.

Oh man I hear ya, I'm not an early riser at all. But there is a magical quality to the light in the morning, and it is all the more amazing when you are the only person there. It's a view that the vast majority of people will not see. Good for you for working through the pain, the results are totally worth it :)

Oh yeah man! Gotta get up early if you want to get the shot.

Awesome, thanks for sharing these awesome pictures. Wish I could take my pictures like you do. Check my blog out if you'd like to :-)

Great photos!! Did you hear about the 'Netherlands venice'? It's a village in the Netherlands which you can only access by foot, bike or boat. It#s full of nature and looks a little bit like venice))

Dude! Amsterdam is my favorite. Both are awesome

Favourite what? You mean country where you can take a spliff and walk chilled around? Well if that, then it's mine too mate

Love the pictures!

As usual, fantastic job @lightenup. You know how to capture the light of venice (and the girls xD)

And the girls...hahahahahhaa. you know me too well already

Your alive, YAY!!!! It looks so beautiful. Good luck in Croatia. Can not wait for more updates.

Really enjoyed your photographs! Especially those colors​!

Woah the long exposure makes the water look like pavement. nice work!

these are beautiful pictures of venice. I love this place so much. So magical! early in the morning are the best time to explore venice..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34